Yarn Along

Joining Ginny for this week’s yarn along.

I finished the hat I started last week. The yarn, Louisa Harding’s Kashmir Aran in gorgeous Grape, is actually very nice! It’s quite dense, which I think works very well with the type of hat I made. The pattern is ‘Propeller’ from Wee Woolly Toppers, a very sweet collection of little hats!

After the hat, I started another (yes, another) Puerperium, but I got this far and realised I’d never make it to the end with one ball of yarn.

So that got all ripped out again. I’m thinking something along these lines perhaps?

Now, about the book I am especially excited this week: Gethsemane by Bert Strebe.

The reason: my dad wrote it! Ta dah!
An actual real book, it came in the post last week and I just got to crack it open.  I’ve read quite a few things my father wrote, but it’s so great to have his published novel in front of me now.
Well done, Papa!

If you know German and would like a taste you can read an extract here, and read more on my dad’s blog here

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Wow – what an amazing feeling to have your Dad’s hard work all beautifully bound in your hands. I love the colour of that wee hat, good job!

  2. niasunset says:

    Congratulations for your father. This is so exciting. I know the feeling when your book is published. I had published books too. But in my own language. Dear Svenna, how I wished to read in German… you can’t believe, my mother language was German at the beginning and then I especially forgot this language because I was a little child and in here, my friends were teasing with me that I was talking German. My Dad was so sad because of this, everynight was reading me fairy tales in German… but no, I forgot. Then I started to learn English… I am so regretful now. And yes, we lived in Germany, Esseni Dusseldorf when I was a little girl. Can you see, you made me to remember all these days again… I loved this new hat, and the colour so nice too, I have never done a hat like that before, maybe I can try. And the other lovely piece, seems going to be a nice one. Thank you dear Svenna, Have a nice day, with my love, nia

  3. Anushka says:

    yes, i think the two colors will blend up nicely for your next puerperium! how cool to read a book by your dad… went to his blog and loved to see he has a quote from your blog on the cover page. you must have a sweet father/daughter bond. and now i think your writing talent must have something to do with having an author for a father.

  4. Natalie says:

    Congrats to your dad!

    The hat looks great, and I think the 2 colours of yarn will work wonderfully together :)

  5. Lydia says:

    Yay! Congrats to your dad. I SO wish I could read German now.

    Your hat is beautiful, a lovely little grape beret. I also like the two colors you’ve chosen for your Puerperium…should be gorgeous.

  6. Tracey says:

    Hooray for your Dad, that must be a dream come true! What is the book about? I do have a German dictionary that I could use ;) !

  7. What a great thing for you and your dad! Congratulations to him! I don’t speak or read German, but wish I did! The sweater and hat look wonderful. I love the colour choices for the sweater!

  8. Kate says:

    Congrats to your dad! I wish I could read it but my German is more of the “DIck and Jane” level.
    I think those colors go together nicely. The stripes would be cute :)

  9. swanski says:

    Congrats to your dad! Such exciting news :) Your hat and sweater look beautiful together!

  10. Schneetalrabe says:

    Hi, this is Svenna’s dad.

    Thanks a lot to all you for your wishes and congratulations. Very warm-hearted comments.

  11. Stacy says:

    Holding a piece of your dad’s work must be something very special!
    Love the hat!

  12. Cynthia says:

    How exciting! Congratulations to your dad! :)

    I think the two yarns would look lovely together. I always love your choices of yarn though it seems. :) And the hat looks great–definitely can see why the colorway is called “grape”!

  13. Ellen says:

    What is the book about? I think the yarns will look lovely together in the new top you’re thinking about – although they might work together in the one you ripped out too. Your hat is great. The title of it fits.

  14. Lori says:

    i like the stripes you have planned, i think it will look lovely! and congrats to your dad, how sweet of you to be so proud of him!

  15. Rachel says:

    Wow! How special to have something written by your father! Congrats to him! Hmm…I wonder how much German my dad can still read…I’d love to read that excerpt!
    I think those colours for your puerperium will be great – such a shame to rip out all the hard work!

  16. Pingback: Starting the week.. | Stitch and Purl

  17. Pingback: Yarn Along | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

