kcwc – day 1

I decided to go easy on the first day of the kids clothes week challenge, and started with another duvet cover for Kaya. Not as elaborate as the last one, I just used one of our big ones (during my de-cluttering I found that we had seven (!) duvet cover sets, which we never use, of course. So some were given away, some, like this one, saved to be repurposed).
I used one of Kaya’s existing covers as ‘pattern’, cut, sewed two seams, done.
Pretty much nstant gratification.

I decided to make it a little more interesting with some freezer paper stencils, so last night I had a little stencilling session.

There’s the kangaroo for the duvet cover.

The sweet little hats are organic cotton baby bonnets I brought back from Germany. I decorated a batch of these last year, but they all sold at a market before I could put them up in the shop. Anyway, that’s where these ones are headed soon!

And yes, something that Kaya can actually wear. Although I didn’t sew the t-shirt.
Kaya is very much into his own sweet little version of role play these days.
He is Kaya Frog. Daddy is a seal. I am Mama Caterpillar (not sure what I’ve done to deserve this honour). So I thought to make him a proper Kaya Frog t-shirt.
He is very picky about what he does and doesn’t wear these days, but the frog t-shirt got his approval. Phew.

I found some lovely free stencils here.

You can see what amazing things the others have already come up with in the flickr pool. And now, maybe on to some actual garment sewing?

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to kcwc – day 1

  1. Kaye says:

    I love them all! The frog shirt is great! What do you use for the stenciling?

  2. swanski says:

    I wonder where he got caterpillar from…..kids can be so silly and delightful :) Love the stenciling!

  3. rachel says:

    I love freezer paper stencils – so much fun! Yours are very sweet indeed. I’m glad Kaya accepted the frog – I have picky dressers here, too. :)

  4. what kinf of ink do you use, it’s lovely and solid, not at all like the wishy washy fabric paints used to be!

  5. Katie says:

    Thanks for the link to those silhouettes. And the shirt and duvet cover are lovely indeed.

  6. Ellen says:

    Such sweet designs – love the bright colors and simplicity. I’ve seen this done for quite some years but have never attempted it myself. A must-do for summer.

  7. Pingback: kcwc – days 2 and 3 | Stitch and Purl

  8. Pingback: Backpacking | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

