Yarn Along

At last week’s Yarn Along, I saw a Puerperium Cardigan knitted up here, and loved it! So this week, two of them came off my needles. The first one is knitted in Araucania Ulmo, a cotton yarn in delicious colours. I love it when you’re not sure what it’s going to look like it the end!
The second one has edging in the same yarn; the rest is knitted in Rowan Milk Cotton. I don’t really understand how Milk Protein can be a yarn, but it’s 30% of this one, and it’s really just so, so soft!

I borrowed the book Knitting Motifs for Babies and Kids from a friend and attempted my first colour work in the second cardie. I’m not sure if I’m really patient enough for things like this, but there are such sweet designs in here. I do love these little lions…..

I love the cardies with their buttons running down the side, and they are so quick and easy to knit up. All in one piece, too, so that sewing up in the end is easy-peasy.

They are, however a bit bigger than I wanted them to be. I have this sleeveless top that Kaya used to wear in his first weeks, and I’d love to make something that size. (That’s him wearing it up there, at four weeks old…). These cardies are a few inches longer, so I might try and adapt them a bit for a shorter version.

Other than that, I am reading Red Dog by Louis de Bernieres. I loved Birds Without Wings and Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, so I recently got it from the library. It took some getting used to, seeing that it is from both human and dog perspective – but I’m slowly getting into it. I am definitely brushing up on my “Australianisms”. Luckily there is a glossary in the back.
Also reading, many more times than I think strictly necessary, Harry and the Bucketful of Dinosaurs. Kaya has shoes with dinosaurs on them, so it’s  a firm favourite at the moment!

Now, off to share and see what other’s are up to, at small things

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Kate says:

    Your cardigans are so cute! I will have to look that pattern up 🙂

  2. You do absolutely beautiful work and that picture of your baby is just adorable!!!! : )

    ~ Wendy
    http://Crickleberrycottage.blogspot.com/

  3. Amanda says:

    I love these! I would like to make a bigger one for my little guy. I wish I knew how to knit before he was born because now I see so many cute newborn clothes. I like the look of that motif book too.

  4. So sweet! I am in the midst of a sweater for my toddler using the boat and whale motifs from that book – there are so many sweet designs in it!

  5. Ericasue says:

    such sweet sweet cardigans! Beautiful!

  6. cpcable says:

    Simply beautiful. What a lucky little baby to wear such lovingly made (and adorable!) little cardis!

  7. Rachel says:

    Oh my that photo of Kaya at four weeks is too sweet! Do you have a pattern for that little sleeveless top? And I just love the colours in your first cardi!

    • Thanks, Rachel. The top is the Tank Top from Debbie Bliss, The Baby Knits Book. The smallest size there is 3-6 months, but I made it 3cm shorter than indicated. That was not on purpose!! But it fit very well. I also left one shoulder open and added a button – always helpful! 🙂

  8. accountantgrrl says:

    Adorable cardigans. Man, i wish I knit that fast

    I loved the movie Captain Corelli’s Mandoin with Nickolas Cage. Was the book just as good or better?

    • I usually like the books better than the film! But it’s always harder to read the book after you’ve seen the film, isn’t it. If you haven’t read “Birds without wings”, I liked that one even better!

  9. swanski says:

    I think all of the sweaters are so sweet! The baby is beautiful and looks so happy.

  10. I just have to make one of those sweaters now… Great knitting!

  11. love those cardigans with the buttons. can’t wait to cast on for one!

  12. Stacy says:

    love the cardigans…the vest picture on the sweet babe just about melted me. Love the colors and the motifs too. All awesomeness!

    http://worldofwiedz.blogspot.com/2011/06/yarn-along_08.html

  13. karen says:

    what adorable baby knits!

  14. Tracey says:

    you have knitted the most beautiful cartigans and Iove the little buttons.

  15. Heidi says:

    Svenna, those cardigans are simply wonderful! I will definitely have to take note of that pattern…I also think that striped vest is too adorable for words. I would love to make that for some of the babies being born in these parts. I have the Lucinda Guy book in my shelf from the library…I haven’t had a chance to knit any, but ilove all of the patterns in her books!

    • Yes, I loved having something that was not too big – even if it only fit for a couple of weeks. Those first weeks are such a special time, they deserve a special vest! 🙂

  16. Carla says:

    Your work makes me so happy that I finally signed up for knitting classes!

  17. mitambien says:

    The sweaters are darling and Kaya is adorable!

  18. Pingback: Yarn Along | Stitch and Purl

  19. Pingback: Yarn Along | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

