Starting the week with… the last of the brownies

Saturday night I made some brownies. Everyone had already gone to bed and I was sitting in the quiet sitting room, just me and my book, waiting for the brownies to bake. Then I sat some more in the quiet sitting room, just me and my book and some brownies. Yum.

The brownies sat all of Sunday under a tea towel in the kitchen, and every time I lifted up the tea towel to sneak a bit of brownie, they had somehow become smaller already. This morning I finally cut the little that was left into something vaguely resembling squares. By now it’s just a few crumbs left anyway. They are delicious. Even my non-chocolate-eating husband loves them.

This is how I made them:

Small batch of Brownies

100g dark chocolate and
75 g milk chocolate, all broken into pieces
125 g butter, cut into pieces, or margarine
2 eggs
100g light muscovado sugar
45 g wholemeal flour
1/2 tsp baking powder

Preheat the oven to 150°C. Butter and line the base of a cake tin. I used a round one because that’s all I have. (Who says brownies have to be square anyway?!)
In a small pot, melt the chocolate and butter, stir well and cool a little.

Whisk the eggs until pale, and then whisk in the sugar until the mixture is thick. Gently fold in the melted chocolate mix. Add the flour and baking powder and stir gently.

Pour into your tin and bake for 30-35 minutes. The middle will still be a little moist but is going to set as the brownies cool.
Leave to cool in the tin for 1 hour before cutting into squares (or any other shape for that matter) and leave to cool on a rack.

Adapted from 101 Cakes & Bakes

Wishing you a wonderful Monday and a good start to this week!

This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Starting the week with… the last of the brownies

  1. Diana says:

    wow! they look perfect! i’m hoping that just looking at the lovely photo’ of them will be enough for me as my skin is already complaining since our visit to the tunnock’s tea cake factory! xx

  2. Kate says:

    Yum! Brownies never last long around here either… probably because I sneak a bite everytime I pass the pan 🙂 The recipe I use is very similar except I never have chocolate so I always have to use cocoa powder.

  3. Mmmm…they wouldn’t make it past Sunday at our place! 😉

  4. they look great! brownies never last long around here 😉

  5. niasunset says:

    Dear Svenna, seems so delicious, I’m going to make it this weekend, my husband loves these kind of things… Thank you, with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

