Reality Check

There is this wall in our house that is dedicated to photos of our extended family. We created it in our old house when we were expecting Kaya, in what became his room.
With all of our family living abroad, we felt that we wanted to have them around us in this way at least.
It has been so good to watch Kaya start taking an interest in the pictures, learn everyone’s names, meet them ‘in real life’, and remember them at home –  especially since some of his great-grandparents have passed away.

In this house we are careful about nails in the wall as we are renting, so the pictures have been held up by velcro devices, picture hanging strips, and lots of blu tack!
They have held out for almost a year, but recently some of them have fallen down.
We need to get more picture strips. Or find a new clever way to keep them up there.
In the meantime, I miss our families even more as I cannot see everyone when I move around the house.
Not that I studied the pictures every time I passed, but you always notice something more when it’s missing, no?

When I left home aged 19, I was only going away for a year. That was in 2003.
Of course I have missed my family, but nothing like since Kaya has arrived.
I wish he could grow up with his grandparents, aunties, uncles and cousins living just around the corner. Or at least in reasonable driving distance. Or all in one country, for that matter.
And old friends that I miss, who live in another country, or at another end of this one.
But we are here now, and since money is tight we don’t know when we will see them next.

So today I am grateful for the opportunities of communication in modern life: Internet, skype, emails, telephones – means by which we can be in touch regularly, speak and even see each other.
Little messages that make us feel closer.
Being able to send and receive pictures and videos, seeing little ones grow.
And cards and letters, which had a recent revival in our house.

And I am so grateful for the friends and lovely family substitutes around us.

And friends that I have the fortune to know in this space, even though some of us have never actually met.

Love to you all.

Rachel had a family related Reality Check post as well this week, but of a different kind!

This entry was posted in Home, kids and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Reality Check

  1. Diana says:

    Thank you so much Svenna. And love to you too xxx. It’s so strange how we have so much opportunity to travel the world and find new and wonderful experiences and yet that often leaves us far away from family and friends. xxx

  2. Rain says:

    Such a beautiful gift to yourself and your family. We’re terrible about printing/framing photos…and we have family abroad, too…perhaps it’s time. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Rachel says:

    My heart is going out to you, Svenna! My family is mostly across our big country and I’ve been aching lately for visits with them and visits to my home.
    I love your photo wall. I think it is such a great idea. It’s wonderful that you have that visual reminder of the people you love and miss so much.
    Wish I could give you a big hug! xo R

  4. Schneetalrabe says:

    Ich vermisse Euch auch.

  5. Carla says:

    What a sweet post! I love the idea of your photo wall – my mind is swirling with ideas for my own. The internet really is a blessing when it comes to connecting with those we wish could visit more often.

  6. niasunset says:

    Dear Svenna, you are so nice and you created a beautiful wall. I love to see them around me too, and nothing can be changed its place in my home. I am used to see them where I placed. But our parents (both of ours, my husband’s and mine) they passed away… It is still so hard to know that they are not here… But as you explained to keep their memories in those photographs makes me feel better, I can see them every time… So, I am impressed so much by your beautiful post. Blessing and Happiness for you and for your family. Thank you, with my love, nia

  7. Pingback: For Dear Svenna! « A Cup of Tea With This Crazy Nia

  8. niasunset says:

    Dear Svenna, if you visit my blog (a cup of tea with nia wordpress), you can find an idea for photographs. Because as I explained there too, walls were not enough in my home 🙂 Thanks again, with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

