Yarn Along

There has been rather a lot of knitting going on. I’ve had custom orders to knit, which is great fun, but not as leisurely as it could be. Well. It could be more leisurely if you were realistic about setting yourself deadlines and took into account all the other things happening and going on, and didn’t overestimate your own speed of knitting.

Anyway. There’s been rather a lot of knitting, and more yarn arriving (yay!), but I’m running out of space. You see, my “studio” is a desk. And that desk is in a shared room. And anyway it’s not the place where I knit. I knit on the sofa, at the table, outside on a picnic blanket, in the car. So naturally, my knitting moves around with me. Only, if you have several projects on the go it can get a bit confusing. So at the moment, there is yarn on just about every available surface (like on top of the bookcase). My husband has not yet openly complained about it, so I’m keeping quiet. Maybe he hasn’t noticed.

Luckily, a lot of knitting results in some finished projects, which is satisfying. Two hats and a cardigan are done, but my baby socks still didn’t get past the first heel. Priorities.

Reading has also fallen by the wayside a bit. I’m still on The House on the Strand, and really enjoying the half page I manage to read before I fall asleep..

Visit small things for more inspiration!

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Jarka says:

    yummy yarn! πŸ™‚ I have lots of yarn at home and I’m not buying new until I use up all the yarn I have (at least that’s the plan) πŸ˜€
    I love the color combination you’re using for your project (on the first photo) it’s so sweet πŸ™‚

  2. kathy says:

    Wonderful yarns, and beautiful knitting. I find that overestimating the speed at which I’ll finish things and failing to consider all of the other demands on my time cause me all sorts of scheduling/planning/deadline woes. I’m trying to be more realistic and to remember how often the best laid plans must be adjusted due to unforeseen circumstances! I’m also trying to figure out a better way to store all the yarn I bought this summer, which lives in a shared home office space. I’m thinking my best bet is just to knit like crazy so there’s less of it to store! πŸ™‚

  3. gosh, so many beautiful projects, you have been buisy!

  4. accountantgrrl says:

    As Dorie (from Finding Nemo) would say: “Just keep knitting!” πŸ˜‰

  5. Kate says:

    I never finish anything when I think I will. It’s very frustrating at times but I’m trying to learn to be more realistic too.
    All my knitting-in-progress lives on top of the bookcase too – far out of the reach of little fingers who also love yarn πŸ˜‰ I have a big basket that I can pull down when it’s safe.

  6. Ellen says:

    The stitch in the top photo has such a lovely texture to it. What is it?

    • I am using a mercerized cotton – I wasn’t too keen on it to begin with, but then I bought some more! It’s a bit crisper and makes regular stocking stitch look rather smart.

  7. swanski says:

    You piqued my interest by saying “more yarn arriving”!! I want that to happen to me. I really like the pink and white paired together. Very beautiful!

  8. Rachel says:

    What could be better than piles of yarn scattered everywhere? Maybe your hubby just understands the value of that…?
    Your yarn arrivals always sound so magical…I’m with swanski – I want that to happen to me!

  9. Erin says:

    All that lovely knitting sitting around… sounds fabulous to me! I’m sure your husband hasn’t said anything because he secretly likes to look at all your handwork. πŸ™‚

  10. It’s like our house! I try to contain the knitting to one corner, but most of the time it’s a no go. I figure since my husband’s music stuff is all over the house, no reason my knitting can’t join it, right? And… I wholeheartedly agree, commission knitting, while fun, is less fun than personal knitting. (Darn sweaters that just don’t ever seem to get done! πŸ™‚ Haha!)

  11. Stacy says:

    Love those colors in the first photo. Good luck with your deadlines.

  12. Angela says:

    I read Rebecca by Daphne De Maurier several years ago and loved it, but I’ve never read another one of her books. I’ll be curious to see how you like this one. And I used to knit customs and my house ended up a lot like yours! I loved seeing the yarns people sent me and was always happy when I could package up the new handknit and send it off to its new home.

  13. Lydia says:

    Oh, so many beautiful projects and yarns in this post! I’ve been thinking of starting an etsy shop and knitting custom orders for when I stay home with this new baby. But I’m wondering just how crazy and hectic it will be meeting deadlines. On the plus side, it’s great that your business is doing so well.

  14. you always have such great projects going! i’m with you on the baby socks…i’ve tried knitting baby booties three times now but can’t seem to get into it. had to move on to something else πŸ˜‰

  15. I haven’t read that particular Daphne Du Maurier. I shall have to chase that up!

    I too have projects exploding out all over the place. New projects always hold appeal over the old:)

Leave a Reply

