Yarn Along

Another beautiful Wednesday for Yarn Along with Ginny..

With a whole lot of knitting and chasing-littles-in-the-sunshine going on, I’m still reading Salem Falls. You just don’t get that far when the only time you get to read is while brushing your teeth at night!

The baby carry bag is all done – in hindsight maybe I didn’t need quite so many buttons. Sewing on all 22 of them did drag on just a tad!!
I’m quite happy how this snuggly little thing turned out, I hope my friend’s baby will think so too in a few months’ time!
Ravelry notes here.

 

Kaya’s breakfast cardie (Ravelry link) is also finished.

I made it for breakfasts at home – our house has this curious habit of being a couple of degrees colder downstairs (where we eat) than upstairs (where we get dressed). As a consequence, we sit down for breakfast, and then get up again to get cardies.
Kaya is always quick to declare “I’m freezing”, while examining the goose bumps on his arms.

I loved the feel of the cotton yarn – it’s Rowan Purelife Organic – and has a lovely drape. Possibly as a consequence of this, however, I found the neckline a bit too floppy. I ended up picking up and knitting a few more rows at the top to make it fit a little better.

Of course my mum’s house has a lovely and even temperature, and it’s too hot to wear with sleeves anyway. But we’ll be back home soon enough.

On the needles now is a hoodie to go with the carry bag, and then I’ll be looking forward to moving on to something that’s not grey and stripey. Well, probably still stripey. We’ll see.

I’m loving the time I spend knitting with my mum on this holiday. It’s so nice to have someone who gets excited about yarn and buttons along with you, and sits in the evenings clicking away. She is working on a new range of some very sweet knee high baby socks for the shop.

What are you knitting and/or reading today?

This entry was posted in kids, Knitting, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. sylvia says:

    that carry-bag is adorable. and i am loving the idea of breakfast cardies!

  2. Tracey says:

    The baby carry bag is a wonderful idea and I do love how it came out. Glad you have had a lovely holiday and have been able to knit with your Mom. xx

  3. Miriam H. says:

    Das ist echt ein total schoener Pulli! Ich sollte auch wieder anfangen zu stricken!

  4. Ellen says:

    All the projects look wonderful! Yeah for finishing. I love stripes (not on me, necessarily). When my children were real little, we were known affectionately as the ‘stripe family’ since I dressed my kids in so many stripes. (didn’t realize it was so obvious!)

  5. swanski says:

    Looks like the perfect amount of buttons to me, but then I did not sew all of them on 😉 It looks great and I bet your friend is going to love it.

  6. Kate says:

    I love all your projects 🙂 I’m glad you’re having a nice visit.

  7. Renee says:

    Your knitting is Beautiful…..

    ~~Renee

    A Knitters Notebook

  8. Greer says:

    Love it all! So much knitting at your place!

  9. That baby sack is the best!

  10. accountantgrrl says:

    What an absolutely clever idea!

  11. love the carry bag! and yes, all those buttons would not have been fun to sew on but i do like the way they look. and the breakfast cardi – such a cute idea!

  12. Rain says:

    Love the breakfast cardy! 🙂 And the stripey socks and sweet baby bag….Ok, everything you do is gorgeous. I dream of clicking away next to a family member I love one day. I hope it’s my son 🙂

  13. Gretchen R says:

    You made that for your friend?

    …can I be your friend? 🙂

  14. Ximena says:

    ¡Qué hermosos todos tus tejidos!
    Son preciosos

    Saludos cariñosos desde Chile.

  15. Amy Caroline says:

    The baby sack is adorable, though I would probably have been tired sewing on all those buttons too!

  16. Lori says:

    such beautiful knitting, your friend will be thrilled. and those baby socks are precious, love the stripes!

  17. kristin says:

    oh i love kaya’s sweater! how cozy.

  18. Kristen says:

    These are lovely! Loving that baby bag and your son’s new sweater. (You must be a really fast knitter…:)

  19. These are wonderful knits! Beautiful work, friend!

  20. Rachel says:

    Ah! I’m so excited to see both of these projects completed – they look great! I’m partial to the stripey and grey…

  21. niasunset says:

    This is so lovely… You are so creative and nice, dear Svenna. I am busy in these days but soon I will be in my normal daily life… I miss to do something (especially knitting) and reading… Thanks and Love, nia

  22. theladybird says:

    I really like the breakfast cardi. Was it is the beyond puerperium or the tama pattern you used? I like the detail of the buttons being off centered!

  23. Pingback: Yarn Along | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

