Yarn Along

Wow, how is it already Wednesday again?

I didn’t get much knitting done this week, but I have just cast on for a little hat.
The yarn is a blend of merino wool, microfibre and cashmere, and I’m not sure yet what I think of it. I bought one ball when I saw it on sale, because I loved the colour. The texture is a bit unusual, but I think it might be growing on me..

I finished reading House Rules.

I have mixed feelings about this book. I felt closest to the characters in this book, compared to others by Jodi Picoult, but I don’t think the story was the best she’s ever written.
I like her style of writing, and I think she did a good job researching and depicting the impact of Asperger’s syndrome on one of the characters and those around him – although bearing in mind that this is a work of fiction, some parts may be less realistic than others.
But I felt really quite frustrated that nobody seems to ask the one questions that needs to be asked. I won’t go into detail, in case you’re going to read it, but – argh.
And the ending came a bit quick, and suddenly the book was over.
Oh well.
I still think it is a good read, just not my favourite.

Now. What next?
I’m in a bit of a muddle, both with my reading and my knitting. There are too many things I want to do, can’t do them all at the same time, but want to get them all done. Now.
I am just confusing myself, really.
So hopefully by next week I’ll have sorted myself out.

….Oh, and now I almost forgot. Knitting problem:
My dad asked me to knit him a few pairs of fingerless gloves.
The problem is, they need to be of the heavy duty variety, robust enough to stand up to the friction caused by the dog lead. We thought shoe laces, but I doubt I’ll get a pair long enough… Any other wild ideas would be much appreciated!

Pop over to Ginny’s blog for more Yarn Along.Ā 

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. hmmm – for the gloves, could you just knit with aran wool and then sew on leather palm patches?

  2. Kate says:

    I love the color of your yarn!
    Good luck with your Dad’s gloves. I was thinking of patches too.

  3. Tracey says:

    I would have bought the yarn for the color alone too!
    Have you tried knitting with jute? You could use it just for the palms. I have done
    several cloths with it and while it starts to hurt my fingers if I knit too long, if I take
    my time I finally finish!xx

  4. Sam says:

    I get muddled with my reading and knitting too! There is so much I want to read and knit! Right now I am being quite strict with books, I am trying to work throught the ones I own and not get more from the library and with knitting I have started Christmas knitting and trying to stick to that! Temptations are always around though!!!

  5. Lydia says:

    Love the yarn you’ve chosen, both the color and the texture.

    For your dad’s gloves: what about going to a hardware store that sells lengths of rope? You can get rope in various gauges and materials and get it cut to whatever length you like. Might be expensive though.

  6. Natalie says:

    I’ve always been intrigued by the chained texture of that yarn, looks interesting and the colour is gorgeous šŸ™‚ Have you considered clothes line for the gloves?

  7. swanski says:

    I love the purple! It is my new favorite color….for now, I keep changing. Why not just make a pair of mitts out of sock yarn with 25% nylon. They will still get worn out but that would give you an excuse to make him another pair šŸ™‚

  8. accountantgrrl says:

    That IS a knitting problem! I would do a durable wool pair with some sort of padding for the hand part.

  9. I think patches seems to be the consensus! Be sure to show us how they turn out!

  10. Cynthia says:

    I can see why you were drawn to that yarn! I really like its texture and the color is lovely too.
    Thanks for the review on the book. I have been on the fence with this one and think I might pass…. at least for now. So many books I want to read!

    I have been feeling a bit muddled in my knitting (as you put it!) too. I think it comes with having so many ideas running through my head and not sure where to start.

    I think the leather patches for the fingerless mitts is a great idea. Perhaps you can re-purpose an old leather jacket for it?

  11. Kristen says:

    Is it a baby hat your knitting? Or a child’s? I’d like to knit my older 3 hats for the coming winter…always looking for patterns! It is a beautiful color. I’ve read a little Jodi Piccoult….she’s great. I haven’t been reading too much fiction lately….I go through spurts šŸ™‚

  12. Lori says:

    the color of your wool is so pretty. for the gloves i was thinking maybe hemp? a blend of hemp and linen, would be fairly soft to work with and very strong. what a sweet daughter you are!

  13. Rachel says:

    I’m excited to see what do work out for the gloves! Sounds like you got some great suggestions.

    I thought of you and your impressive list-making as I muddled through my list this week. So much knitting so little time.

  14. niasunset says:

    I loved the colour too, seems it would be so nice, dear Svenna. Have a nice knitting moments, how I missed to knitt but still I can’t start, can’t find time for this. Thank you, with my love,nia

Leave a Reply

