Sweet moments

There seems to be a new tradition around here. On weekend mornings, the male neighbours, one after the other, open their garage doors. You can hear hammering and drilling. Cars get washed. Motor oil swapped. Stain remover tips traded.
I like that new tradition. The men are outside, Kaya is making himself useful. He plays with his cars in the garage and waves to passers-by. Every now and then he skips inside to show me something he’s found or tell me he said hello to someone.
I really like that new tradition. It means that I can be here, all by myself, savouring a few moments of crafting time. I get a bit confused as to where to start. How to use that precious time best? A little sewing? A little knitting?
I end up starting lots of things and skipping from one to the other, tasting a bit of each, before moving on, almost never quite finishing anything.
Tonight there’ll be time to pick up the pieces and sew in some lose ends.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Crafts, kids and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sweet moments

  1. I love this post. So often I feel like I have to work on one thing to the end before I move forward. I need to remember that a little bit of disjointedness can be good from time to time. It can spark creativity… as long, in my case at least, I go back to the original thing and finish eventually!

    • Yes, I’m usually like that. I quite like doing whatever I feel like just now – even if that’s something different from 5 minutes ago. But I do feel like I’ll need to finish something soon, too!

  2. Rachel says:

    So much goodness! I’m looking forward to seeing shop additions! Love the dolls, cards and…fingerless mitts? Lovely!

  3. niasunset says:

    How amazing they are… and makes me to do something like that… You are so nice dear Svenna, I love your creative world, your colours and your projects. Thank you, Have a nice week, with my love, nia

  4. Tracey says:

    I am very curious to see more of the dolls in the picuture, they look like sleeping dolls to me. What a talent you have Svenna. Everything always looks so perfect and just adorable.Enjoy your moments of crafting fun.xx

  5. sewinator says:

    I am glad to hear I am not the only one who can’t stay focused on one project! It sounds like you live in a really great neighborhood to raise a child in. I loved the photos of the dolls you made.

  6. Anushka says:

    those dolls are so adorable! and what is under the cards – socks, sleeves? very cute all of it…

Leave a Reply

