Reality Check

 

Linking with Rachel this morning for another reality check..


I’m sure you know these moments. Little ones playing upstairs, someone remarks about how well they get along. After a while you notice it’s gone awfully quiet so you go up to check.
I’ve had plenty of moments like this, and more often than not haven been relieved to find Kaya sitting in his room looking at a book or just playing quietly.

But last weekend I opened the bathroom door to find Kaya and his little friend attempting to wash off the vaseline they’d covered themselves in. Covered.
Have you ever tried washing vaseline out of hair?

We popped them both in the bath, and sent the daddies off to check on google how to get the stuff out. Clumps of it.
Washing up liquid does a decent job, by the way, should you ever need that information.
The clothes are still bundled up in the laundry basket, I’m not sure if I’ll get it all out.
Every now and then I’ll open a drawer or touch a door and still find a vaseline smear.

The next morning, having a shower in a tub that was still sporting a nice slippery layer of vaseline residue, I smiled to myself.
Those are the funny moments we’ll never forget.

“Do you remember when they climbed up a chair and got the vaseline tub from the shelf?”

I have a book where I keep notes about Kaya’s milestones, but also the little things. Something he said, something he did. Funny, serious, extraordinary and everyday things. This one’s certainly one of them. Something to remember and smile about.

 

Have a good Monday and a happy start to your week.

 

This entry was posted in kids, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Reality Check

  1. firstmute says:

    You know what? This happened to me recently too. Except it happened under the allegedly watchful eye of the daddy himself! My husband reads to A every night before I come in to put her to bed, and the other night I walked in the nursery to see an almost empty tub of Vasoline on the floor and a *very* greasy child. I gave him a look, and he just looked back at me and said, “Oh, yeah, she got into the Vasoline.”

    !!!

  2. Linda says:

    Oh no! Oh what a mess! I can’t imagine. That is fabulous that you keep a journal of all of those cute little things. It will become your most treasured possesion.

  3. Rachel says:

    Yikes, that is a mess. We had one of those run ins a few years ago with a tub of vitamin E gel – thankfully it wasn’t in hair. Glad you were smiling about it. 😉

  4. Sara says:

    Oh, gosh, I love this! We have plenty of those uh-oh-it’s-too-quiet moments, but usually it’s just the house that gets disastrously messy. Or else my one-year-old is eating a book. Ah, these will be treasured moments some day!!

  5. Diana says:

    I love how you are smiling rather than feeling angry! Bless you Svenna xx

Leave a Reply

