Yarn Along

My husband said yesterday, “Knitting, reading and taking pictures. That’s your world. And Kaya. And me a little bit”
“Can I quote you?”, I asked. “… And you – not just ‘a little bit’.”
“… Just quote me.”

Well, I think my world must fit very well then with Yarn Along, right?

After a lot of knitting for the shop (little hats, mostly) I eventually started on my first piece of gift knitting, yay!
It did take a false start before I got my head around the simple (!) lace pattern, and now it really is the mindless pick-me-up easy peasy knit I expected.

Kaya looked at me knitting yesterday and said “Mama, you are knitting holes”.
Very true, my son, such are the mysteries of knitting.
He had a go himself as well. He was knitting “a big hat” for himself. A broad hint?

 I finished reading my dad’s book.
It was a breeze to read, really. I can honestly say, I would have liked it even if I didn’t know the author so well.

The book, Gethsemane, is about seven friends, young people growing up in Germany in the seventies. Gethsemane is a piece of land where they meet – each other, new experiences, their boundaries.
The story moves between what happened then and what happens now, and how the group breaks apart rather dramatically, with some finding their death, some losing their sanity.

I do love the way my dad writes, he has a very special way with words and images – on his website are a few of his poems available to read, unfortunately only in German – but maybe he’ll let me translate one or two to share some day?

The other thing, of course, is that I know where some things in the book find their origin in real life. That made it more exciting, but also at times harder to read.
I think – actually I’d like to read it again.

What are you knitting and/or reading these days? Or photographing, for that matter!

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Mia Foley says:

    Hi Svenna! It’s lovely to come across you here, thanks for your lovely comment on my blog last week : ) I’ve been admiring your beautiful knitting and the treasures in your Etsy shop, all really lovely work. This spiral cowl is gorgeous, love the edging and look forward to seeing it all done. Congratulations to your Dad on his book! I’ll stop by again, warm regards Mia.

  2. Diana says:

    Gosh, I wish I could read your father’s book! It sounds wonderful. A translation project perhaps…? Hm, but then perhaps there’d maybe be even less time for your husband 😉 Well, from reading some of your previous “yarn alongs” I decided to get a couple of Jodi Picoult’s books whose work I’d not read before, and am reading “House Rules” which I’ve got completely immersed in! I’m utterly engaged in the story of this young man on the autistic spectrum and, as ever, I’m struck by how many of us – myself most definitely included! – would seem to be somewhere along that spectrum and how easy it is to judge others for things we have going on in ourselves as well, even if in lesser amounts. I wonder though, why the author is described as being the UK’s number one bestselling “women’s” fiction author when the subjects of parenthood, autism and criminal justice must surely be of interest to everyone, not just women? Is it because the mother in the book is single, or that there is some “love interest” woven into the story? To be honest, I find the “love interest” bits seem to belong to another sort of book as they’re rather cliched when the rest of the writing is so subtle and that’s a bit distracting. But it won’t put me off reading more of her work and meanwhile I’ll be recommending this book to friends of both sexes! (P.S. the last couple of words on each line of your blog seemed to be missing and I’m not sure if it’s just my pc…)

    • I absolutely agree with you, I think we are all somewhere on the spectrum.
      It is strange about ‘women’s fiction’, as if only women read books by women?! Must have been written by a man, that label!
      If you like House Rules you’ll love the other books, I thought they were even better.
      Let me know what you think!
      I hope my words are coming back to you, no one else has missed them as far as I know. 🙂 xx

  3. Tracey says:

    I really want to read your Dad’s book! I am going to pop over to his site and see it the computer translator thing will work.
    I love how you son is knitting, The way he is holding the needles is exactly how my little wee one knits.

  4. Tracey says:

    Just want to let you know I can translate you Dad’s web page, but not the poems :(!
    This looks like a good long winter project!

  5. Rain says:

    How delightful to have an author in the family! The book sounds wonderful. Learning to read German is at the top of my foreign language aspirations…’cause authors who write in German rock! 🙂

  6. Kristen says:

    Oh, I wish I knew German! That’s great that your dad is a writer. Love your blue yarn…I really need to get motivated to start my own gift knitting 🙂

  7. lydia says:

    I’m with everyone else in wishing I could read German. Your dad’s book sounds wonderful! Love your knitting as always and the lovely blue you’ve chosen.

  8. This is beautiful knitting Svenna… simple is often best, eh? I love the color, too!

  9. swanski says:

    My husband frequently comments on my knitting reading and photoing…..they must be thinking along the same lines. I think it is so cool your dad wrote a book AND you liked it 🙂

  10. Cynthia says:

    It looks like you have started another lovely knit. I do not see anything wrong with your life consisting of knitting, reading, and photography and of course some time for family members. 🙂

    Your dad’s book sounds like a very interesting read. I think it is just wonderful for you to be able to read his work.

  11. Anushka says:

    hmm. lovely knitting and the book sounds good. you would make a great translator for your dad’s work. perhaps his publishing company would pay you! could be good work for you.

  12. Rachel says:

    I still think it is so cool that you are able to enjoy your dad’s (published!!) writing. So special.

    Oh that sweet boy of yours – so insightful. 😉

  13. Pingback: Starting the week.. | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

