Yarn Along

I finished last week’s spiral cowl – but I still need to get a button this afternoon, so a proper picture will follow next week.
I started another gift knit, this one’s going to be for my mother in law. My fist ever shawl. I thought I’d start with something easy, and after much deliberation I chose this lovely (and free) pattern.
After fiddling with the first few stitches it has indeed become a simple and enjoyable knit. Luckily there are changes in the stitches being used, otherwise I’d probably get very bored very soon.
I hope this pattern and I will become great friends, since I’m already planning a few more… but for now, there is a lot of yarn left to use on this one still!

I’ve also been knitting away on a toddler version of the knotted gnome hat, much to Kaya’s delight. More of that in a shop update tomorrow.

I don’t seem to have done a lot of reading this week. I’ve been looking through our stack of library books before having to return them, loving the photographs in The Homemade HomeΒ and Folk Quilt Applique, jotting down some ideas from Green Crafts for ChildrenΒ – Β that’s about it.
Other than that: more late night knitting.

Be inspired or join in: Yarn Along on small things.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Lovely shawl – this way of knitting up a shawl seems to be all over the place right now – it’s the same as the one I’m making, and Ginny’s too. How come I’ve never seen it before!?!? Think I might download that free pattern too! x

  2. Tracey says:

    I just hopped over to look at your shawl pattern and think I will have to cast on one for a sweet girl here as a gift. I have been wanting to do a gnome hat for the wee one as I think they are the cutest little hats. I love seeing all your projects, you are always so busy! xx
    PS-Love, love the top photo!

  3. Natalie says:

    I made that shawl πŸ™‚ It was also my choice for my first shawl, and I think it is perfect – not too much of the same but easy enough so that you can get to grips with shawl construction. Good choice πŸ™‚

    Love the first picture.

  4. Kate says:

    I have that shawl pattern saved in my queue too! It looks lovely πŸ™‚

  5. swanski says:

    Wow! You have been busy, all of the projects are beautiful. I favorited the spiral cowl and might knit that one up for a gift.

  6. Lisa G. says:

    Lovely projects!

  7. Lori says:

    such beautiful knitting, i love the color of your wool. the shawl pattern looks so pretty, i’ve saved it in my queue, i’ve not made one with bulky wool.

  8. Ellen says:

    Can’t wait to see the cowl with the button. I bookmarked it my Ravelry library.

  9. accountantgrrl says:

    I think that’s a perfect shawl for someone new to shawl knitting. Great job. πŸ™‚

  10. kerry says:

    Such a fun project round-up. I still want to make one of those gnome hats myself. So cute! That first picture is amazing! I love the texture!

  11. Everything looks lovely! I sincerely wish I knit as fast as you do… I feel like I poke away and rarely make progress!

  12. that is a really pretty shawl. i will attempt a more challenging one once my last one for my niece is done! lol. i just want them to have something that looks good and doesn’t drive me crazy as i move from knit to something more delicate like this! looking forward to seeing the finished product!

    πŸ™‚
    jen

  13. so many exciting projects! I checked out one of your links for the shawl, awesome and looks easy enough – thanks for linking it, I might try making it too!

  14. Rachel says:

    There is a shawl on my gift list, too. Thanks for sharing this pattern. I’m adding it to my faves!

  15. Anushka says:

    lovely knits and yes, you are so busy! i like those little baerchen clips too from the next post! gotta love ebay for finds like those…

  16. Mia Foley says:

    Your first picture looks like a landscape, lovely : ) Love the colour of your gnome hat and look forward to seeing that beautiful shawl shaping up x

  17. Linda says:

    The green yarn is gorgeous and I love the idea of clear needles. I have never seen those before. That shawl looks anything but easy and simple!

Leave a Reply

