Bye bye babies

Right outside our kitchen window, in the hedge, was a nest with two little baby pigeons. We saw them every day, worried for them when we didn’t see their Mama for a little while, were happy for them when she came back to feed them. We heard them flap their wings and apologised when the wind changed and barbeque smoke was blown in their direction.
For a few days I kept a camera ready and checked on them every so often . I didn’t want to miss them learning to fly.
But then one day last week when it was still bright and warm, I put Kaya down for his nap, and when I came back downstairs they were gone. An empty nest.
I was disproportionally sad.
I still look up every time I go outside, out of habit.

How is it going to be when my baby leaves the nest? I suppose I’ll have a few more years to prepare for that. I’ll think about it then.
For now, I look up when a pigeon flies by, and think it might be one of our babies.

This entry was posted in Life, Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bye bye babies

  1. Awe, I love this Svenna! What an appropriate reminder to watch and be a part of all that our littles do! They grow so fast, don’t they?

  2. niasunset says:

    I can almost feel and understand you dear Svenna. How nicely you captured. Thank you, with my love, nia

  3. How amazing to have been able to watch them grow. Love the photo. Jacinta

  4. Tracey says:

    I felt the same way when “MY” baby cardinal’s flew away, but like children, it is all part of life. I have to say it was a lot easier with the birds verses when some of my children left home! I expected my babies to live with me forever! xx

  5. swanski says:

    This is my first year with no children in the house. Both are away at college and it is way easier than I thought it would be. However at the funniest times I think of them 🙂

  6. Linda says:

    That is so sweet. We have lots of doves around but I have never seen any of their nests. I always worry becuase they like to peck around in the road. Having an emtpy nest was stranger than I thought it would be. Too quiet. And our dogs passed away at the same time. Eventually I got another dog. Then found an orphaned kitty. Then a stray dog. So that helps.

Leave a Reply

