Postcards from Turkey IV: Istanbul

We’ve been back a few days now, but postcards always take a while to arrive, no?

On a too short stop over towards the end of our journey, Istanbul greeted us with cold and rain. Still, it is such an amazing city, its vastness astonishes me every time.
Here are a few postcards from our crossing from the Asian to the European side in the feribot.

You can also cross the Bosporus using one of the two bridges. My first image of Istanbul is when we arrived by car, some six years ago. It was almost midnight, and we saw the bridge below us which was still so busy with hundreds of car lights.
Quite a breathtaking view.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Postcards from Turkey IV: Istanbul

  1. Fascinating city straddling the European and Asian.

  2. Lynne18 says:

    The last photo is stunning. Love the light shining through the clouds.

  3. Tracey says:

    WoW! It is all so different from what I see on a daily bases!
    One day I hope I am blessed with the opportunity to see
    it in person.
    xx

  4. Anushka says:

    that first photo amazes me with the melding of waves and is it cloud reflections i’m seeing on the sidewalk? surreal…

  5. Roberta says:

    Oh! Thank you..I love postcards. I have collected some since I was a child. I too love seeing what I may not experience..

  6. LRO says:

    Beautiful, I have so enjoyed they beauty of your trip thank you for sharing.

    Leila

  7. Rachel says:

    Oh boy. So beautiful. Hagia Sophia is breathtaking.

  8. niasunset says:

    The last one is great. It was so sad the weather wasn’t good when you were here… But I hope and wish for next time dear Svenna, Thank you, with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

