Yarn Along

In between knitting fifteen inches of stocking stitch for a Christmas gift I needed a bit of  instant gratification this week, so I knitted a few more pairs of fingerless gloves.
Not quite instant, but phew, at least something finished!
A few mornings in the library helped with the stockinette, and now more interesting things are going to happen on the gift knitting front.

I finished A Thousand Splendid Suns for the second time. Such a heart wrenching story. Very moving, and at the same time I learned so much on this journey through Afghan history. And, I did love it more than the Kite Runner, maybe because the main characters are women?

I just started reading a book that I ordered from the library so long ago that I can’t even remember where I heard about it. I didn’t read the back cover first, so it was a bit of a surprise to find that it is set in pre-historic times. I don’t think I ever read anything like a Neanderthal novel!
In The Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean Auel, a five-year-old girl loses her parents in an earth quake. The medicine woman of a group of Neanderthal, the clan of the Cave Bear, finds the girl and takes care of her.
So far, I am intrigued. The detailed images of the landscape, life and rituals of the clan of 35,000 years ago is quite amazing.

I have another 550 pages to go, so it’ll probably pop up for a few more Yarn Along weeks…

Linking up with Ginny today.
What are you knitting and/or reading? 

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. A Neanderthal novel – how novel!! Lovely mitts.

  2. swanski says:

    The mitts are beautiful and the color way is gorgeous!

  3. Tracey says:

    I am doing fingerless gloves too although mine for for the guy’s in my life so I made
    the arms longer.
    I do like the pretty yarn you are using and it looks so soft!
    xx

  4. Anushka says:

    wow, i had to read that in high school and now think i need to pick it up again because you’re intrigued. i was not an avid reader in high school – anything that was assigned i resisted. lovely mitts! i made so many mitts years ago that i’ve given them up. maybe they need to be resurrected one day along with the clan of the cave bear reading!

  5. LRO says:

    Love The Clan of the Cave Bear Series, read it many years ago, then came across it again not to long back, gave it to my t14 year old son to read at the same time, when I realized how adult it could be at times, so he stopped reading it, because he simply was not comfortable with it. Other than that the series is awesome.

    Enjoy Leila

  6. Natalie says:

    I know what you mean about needing quick gratification projects! The mitts look great and the book sounds really interesting 🙂

  7. i remember hearing about clan of the cave bear a while back. i’ll be curious to hear what you think of it. your mitts look great 🙂

  8. Hmmm I saw the Clan of the Cavebear when I was in my teens…talk about adult content lol. I will have to read the book. Love the gloves.

  9. Maike says:

    I love your mitts, such vibrant colours, wonderful! And I’ve heard of those Ayla books but then forgot about it again. When I read your post something clicked and I thought “Ah yes, I’ve been wanting to read them…” I think one or two of the series might even be around somewhere in this house, thank you for bringing my memory back ^^

  10. MTO says:

    Love the mitts. Great colors! The story sounds interesting, but long… not sure I could soldier through that many cave man pages!

  11. Becks says:

    The colours in your mitts are wonderful, so cheery and warm

  12. Charity says:

    Look at those great mitts! Beautiful. I work in a library, and so many people borrow those books, but I’ve always been intimidated by the length… you’ll have to let us know how it is – intrigued is a good start!

  13. Lori says:

    i love your gloves, such pretty colors and everyone can use those! i love the clan series. i read the first many years ago, and then my mom told me how much she loved them all, so i read them. now i think i’d like to reread them.

  14. Rachel says:

    I love the stripes in those fingerless gloves. I might do a couple of those for fun, too. You always get me with your stripes, don’t you? 😉

  15. Rain says:

    I am adding A Thousand Splendid Suns to my “to be read” list right now. Thanks for the recommendation. I’ll look forward to seeing what you think of the Clan (LOL! I would never think of reading a Neanderthal novel either ;-).

Leave a Reply

