Sweet Dreams

Since moving into his big boy bed, Kaya has been using a lovely duvet that his Turkish grandmother made him. Along with the pillow, she brought it when they came for a visit, back when Kaya was only a few months old.
It came with a lacey duvet cover she sewed for it, but we had only that one. Ahem.

Lets just say, it was time to have a second one, now that it’s cold and laundry takes ages to dry inside.

I used half of an old double duvet cover of ours (the first half became a pair of pyjama bottoms a few months ago) for one side of Kaya’s duvet cover. The other side is patched together with one strip from that same duvet cover, and half of a dark red double sheet that never fit our mattress properly.
For a little colourful contrast and fun I cut some pieces of scrap fabric to the same length and sewed them together.
Not looking too closely at the neatness of the seams, I’m very happy with the outcome.

Although.. I think next time I’m looking to sew a ‘quick’ duvet cover, I’ll just get two pieces of fabric and sew them together with poppers at the bottom – this one wasn’t the quick fix I set out to do.

I made a little pillow case to match, although pillow cases is something we had plenty of. I was going to make it plain (from leftovers from the first big duvet cover. There’s still some left by the way, we’ll see what else I can squeeze out of it!) – but who can resist a little owl like that?

This entry was posted in kids, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sweet Dreams

  1. nice job! I’d never thought of making a duvet cover, but you’re right, two bits of fabric and some poppers should be manageable (says the woman who’s daughter always asks – in public – how I made smoke come out of the sewing machine!)

  2. Charity says:

    I love the matching pillow case, nice work!

  3. many sweet dreams will be had here, I think:) xoxo

  4. niasunset says:

    Beautiful idea, and so creative one! I loved this dear Svenna, Thank you and Sweet Dreams for him, with my love, nia

  5. Rachel says:

    I looks so nice! I have a duvet cover to make here too but I am hardly so brave. I hum and haw for ages before I launch into a sewing project and then I’m terrible at finishing them!

  6. Pingback: kcwc – day 1 | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

