Christmas Crafts: Felt Poinsettia

I thought I’d share a bit of advent crafts with you (elving is taking place secretly in the evenings, so most the photos are featuring some very cosy lighting).

Now, I had to look up the name of that plant. In German, it’s called Weihnachtsstern, Christmas Star, just right for the season!

My mother uses a smaller version of decorations like these on her Christmas tree; she made hers some thirty years ago at a crafts evening at my sister’s kindergarten!
They are super quick and easy to make, and look very sweet.

You need:

  • six 12mm wooden beads
  • a piece of red wool felt, approx 10 x 11 cm
  • a length of thread
  • needle and scissors

Cut the felt into six petal shapes. Mine are roughly 5 cm tall and 3.5 cm wide.

With your thread (I used embroidery thread, but you can use any), make a few wide running stitches along the flat bottom end of the petal like so. When bunched up, it will form a W shape.

Next, thread on a wooden bead. Then a petal, and so on until you have six petals alternating with your six beads. Pull tight and close the ring with a few little stitches and a knot. Add a little more thread to hang your Christmas Star from.
Voila.


You can easily use other colours and leaf shapes for some variety; I painted some beads red and cut out spiky green felt leaves for a little holly hanging decoration!

I hope you’re all having a peaceful start to this week..

This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Christmas Crafts: Felt Poinsettia

  1. Ohhh, thank you for the ideas! These are beautiful. In Mexico they’re called Flor de Nochebuena, the flower of the Good Night.

  2. aaah – I’m enchanted! Such a simple idea with such a beautiful result, I need to get down to the craft shop in the morning.

  3. LRO says:

    Love it, Thank you for giving me my Friday’s Favorite Find post for this Friday, each Friday I feature a post from a crafts blog that I look around for, and when I find a fun craft I like I feature it the next Friday, well now I won’t have to look, since you were so kind as to send it to me. Thank you I will go pre-post it right now.

    Hugs Leila

  4. Anushka says:

    i love these! thank you for the tutorial! i was wondering what the poinsettia was from your other post. so cute!

  5. Roberta says:

    Very nice! Thank you for sharing..

  6. Carla says:

    So pretty, thanks for the how-to!

  7. Rain says:

    How beautiful! Thank you for the tutorial…I see gifts for teachers in our future 🙂

  8. Pingback: The Advent Calendar | Stitch and Purl

  9. Pingback: Thinking of You, dear Rosemary! « A Cup of Tea With This Crazy Nia

  10. Pingback: Friday’s Favorite Find Dec. 2nd. | Az. Chic Boutique

  11. I made some for our apartment door – they look wonderful! Thanks so much for the tutorial. My daughter and I made a green holly, two hot pink and one red poinsettia, and we’re SERIOUSLY proud of them! x

  12. Pingback: Weekending | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

