Weekending

I meant to clean windows on Saturday to put up Christmas stars, but then I got sucked into clearing out our work room.
My craft things generally live in the garage, and move in and out of the house as needed. After the Christmas market making, there were countless boxes and bags and bits stuffed into all corners. Isn’t it amazing what you find when you empty and re-organise them all. Last year we bought a box with twenty pens. My husband remarked the other day how they had all disappeared.
Well.
They are back.
Also, I had no idea that I own about half a dozen tape measures, because I can never find one when I need it. But I do! And now I even know where they all are.

Doll making and felting supplies are stacked in a corner ready to move back into the garage, for now. Fabrics and yarn are put to one side and waiting to be made into something new.
With threads and scissors tidied, yarn sorted by gauge, and an actual surface to use when I fold down my desk, I now feel in full control of my advent crafting. I’m back on track, a fresh start for gift making.

Three weeks.

Deep breath, I can feel the air flowing through the room.

Hoping for time and space and making to come together to make someone smile.

I tried to do just that by squeezing in an extra knit last week: a pair of fingerless gloves for Kaya’s first advent calendar pocket. Alas, it only made 2nd December – day 1 was filled with a mini muesli bar instead.

After two very late nights finishing the gloves, I expectantly watched him opening the little calendar bag. He eyed the gloves. And said, Mama, can we put them back and get another one with food in it?

I guess we have different ideas of advent calendar happiness.

In the end, he deigned to wear them when we went out. I, for one, love them.
Ravelry notes here.

 

How was your weekend? Linking up with Amanda

This entry was posted in Crafts, Home, Seasons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekending

  1. swanski says:

    Now if we could invent edible mitts, how happy would your child be? They look so warm 🙂

    • That would be fantastic! … Which reminds me, when I was little I wanted to invent see-through yarn, so that I could have a hat that covered my face and kept me warm in the winter …. we should start a yarn lab!

  2. Lynne18 says:

    Those gloves look very nice! I’m knitting a pair for my sister for Christmas.
    I love your new banner too!

  3. I love the gloves, Svenna! What a beautiful (but boyish) color they are!

  4. Diana says:

    yet another post to touch my heart, you write and think so beautifully svenna xx

  5. niasunset says:

    They seem so beautiful dear Svenna,hat and glove… The colours are amazing. I am glad you ordered your work room. Ah you should see mine. 🙂 I need to get ordered too… I can’t find things easily… The window seems so nice too. Thank you, Have a nice day, with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

