Yarn Along

The Christmas vest that didn’t make it in time became a New Year’s vest. I was sewing in ends on New Year’s Eve, and Kaya wore it while peacefully sleeping through the fireworks and celebrations. And he’s worn it almost every day since.
Ravelry notes here.

And after revealing the dog walk gloves, this is the last Christmas gift to be unwrapped here: the cardigan I made for my Mama.
She has been such a support for me over the past year, I wanted to make something special for her. I am still amazed I managed to knit something adult sized, in DK yarn, without a single stripe and stay sane.
(Ravelry notes here.)

But as you can see, I am catching up on lost stripes now with Kaya’s birthday jumper.

And as for reading? Mostly the new books Kaya was given for Christmas.
But I was so busy taking too many pictures of the knitting I forgot all about the reading..

Joining Ginny for 2012’s first Yarn Along. 

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. heathermama says:

    i really love the color of those yarns for the jumper. but i tend to really be drawn to oranges, reds and yellows. 🙂

  2. fantastic Christmas Cardie! Wow, I’ve never made a full sized adult garment before, but the neckline on that looks so beautiful that I could be convinced to try.

  3. Greer says:

    I’ve got the Larch Cardigan in my faves and now I want to make it NOW NOW NOW! Beautiful. x

  4. Kaylana says:

    So sweet! I love the Cardigan for you mom. Such a thoughtful gift!
    Cheers to a New Year of wonderful knits to make!

  5. Mia Foley says:

    The cardigan’s so beautiful on her Svenna, she must be thrilled! How lovely that she’s supportive of what you do. Kaya looks darling in his new vest. All your work looks so natural and timeless somehow. M x

  6. jncl says:

    Such beautiful work! As a novice, I aspire to such lofty heights someday.

  7. karen says:

    I love your Mums cardigan! Im a big fan of knitting stripes too

  8. Tracey says:

    What a wonderful daughter you are to bless your Mom with such a gift, it is just lovely! I know that is something she will wear and treasure for many years.

  9. Kate says:

    I love your mom’s cardi! It’s lovely. And the colors for Kaya’s jumper are awesome – so strong.

  10. swanski says:

    Love your mom’s sweater! I think it fits her perfectly. The vest is so sweet and he looks so handsome in it 🙂

  11. accountantgrrl says:

    Your mom’s cardi is gorgeous! I love Kaya’s cute little vest, too.

  12. Rachel says:

    Those are all lovely 🙂 I bet your Mama loves her cardigan- as much as Kaya loves his vest 🙂

  13. sassysteph says:

    my sweet 3 year old informed he loves the vest and wants one. 🙂

  14. niasunset says:

    They are all so lovely and nice dear Svenna! You are so good in creative knitting works… I loved the colours too… Thank you, with my love, nia

  15. barbara says:

    Very nice sweater and vest. I’m sure your mother and son were pleased!

  16. theladybird says:

    Wow I love the cardigan for your mom. It is just beautiful!

  17. Ellen says:

    I love stripes too (we used to be known affectionately as the ‘stripe family’) but the cardigan is beautiful – no stripes necessary. Love those buttons; they go with it well. And the striped vest is great – it’s so sweet that he loves it and is wearing it often.

  18. Lori says:

    oh my what gorgeous gorgeous knitting. how sweet the vest is, your boy looks so cute in his stripes. and your mom must have had the biggest smile in the world, that sweater is truly gorgeous. i love it, and your intention.

  19. JenMun(a) says:

    Unglaublich was du alles schaffst!..und so wunderschön!dein Kleiner scheint seinen Pullunder voll auszukosten;) na und deine Mutter bestimmt auch! …eine strickende Muse bist du;)
    JenMuna

  20. I love the sweater for your mom Svenna! Beautiful work! I don’t know if I could complete something so beautiful, but “bland!” You did well!

  21. Sara says:

    Cute cute vest! And that sweater is amazing! I love the buttons — and it looks so soft.

  22. The vest is super cute but that cardigan is just gorgeous! I’ve had that pattern queued for a while. It looks great in the beige you chose!

  23. Rachel says:

    Oh, that cardigan is stunning. I WANT one! Looks so great And of course I adore those stripes!

  24. michelle says:

    Oh, I love the cardigan! Just gorgeous!

    ( I came across your blog from Soulemama’s this moment).

  25. What an amazing cardigan you made!
    …your work is just lovely all around.
    (New to your blog and I’m entranced!)

  26. Pingback: Yarn Along | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

