Yarn Along

I finished last week’s commission, but the other knit hasn’t been so lucky – my gauge was off and I’ve had to do a bit of frogging. It always takes so much longer to knit again what you’ve already done once. Oh well.

There are no news on the reading front, but we did do some clearing out and found a few books that I had when I was little, like FriendsΒ and Frederick. Kaya took them under his wing and loves them just as much.
I keep having the very strange experience of reading the stories to him, knowing all the details in the pictures, while the words are completely new to me.

I’ve started pulling together some cottons to make spring gnome hats for the shop. Because it is February, and soon it’ll be March, and then spring won’t be that far off (although we’re having a bit of a cold snap, and spring is far from my mind at the moment). Happy February!

For some different fibre inspiration, the giveaway is still open until Sunday!

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. corrabelle says:

    Oh how I love the pointy hat, and the wool!! (and the little wrist warmers too!) So comfy cozy.

  2. corrabelle says:

    Sorry, I goofed on the url link on that last comment!

  3. ohangelina says:

    awesome wooly hat pattern ! i love that noro, i knitted a neighborly vest with it once.

  4. swanski says:

    Love the gnome hat and his mitts are so cute!!

  5. Tracey says:

    I love the gnome hat! There are times I wish I wasn’t so old, I would wear one myself! πŸ™‚

  6. Shara says:

    I love that little pointy hat! I crocheted one for my little boy last year but it was too small (i really need to work on guage!)

  7. Emma says:

    I love the gnome hat! Just visited your etsy shop for the first time, your work is awesome!

  8. naturmama says:

    The hat is LOVELY! (Noro Yarn?) Wanted to write something about Frederick as well these days but I am really enjoying the whiteness of the world at the moment, I must confess πŸ™‚ Liebe GrΓΌsse!

    • Yay, more Noro. The hat is Silk Garden Chunky, the gloves in regular Silk Garden, and the knitting on the second picture is Kureyon Sock Yarn. On a bit of roll, here… πŸ™‚

  9. enim sou says:

    What a beautiful hat! I love the yarn you used and oh, little Frederick, how smart is he!

    Liebe Grüße, enim sou

  10. Ellen says:

    Your reading experience is interesting. I guess you were engaged in the book as a child by looking at the pictures as your mom or dad read to you. Good illustrations can really make a book come alive. Sorry about the frogging. That’s no fun. The hat and little tiny handwarmers he’s wearing are great!

    • It’s funny, I would have thought I’d remembered some of the words, or even just the gist of the story – but no. It shows how powerful images are when you’re little, doesn’t it.

  11. Heather says:

    Love the gnomey hat and mitts. I just bought some discounted Noro that would be perfect for that.

  12. Alisa says:

    adorable gnome hat! and I love the mitts too…..so cozy!!!

  13. barefootnmama says:

    Love that sweet pointy hat!! Have I told you that I love your shop? Well, I do and one of these days I’m ordering a pair of those awesome mama gloves/arm warmers..love them!!

  14. Lori says:

    oh my goodness that first photo! your hat and mittens are so adorable, and your boy in them.

  15. Natalie says:

    I seriously love the hat in the first picture. Amazing colour choice.

  16. Traci says:

    Love the hats and love the cuffs.

  17. Katie says:

    Those wrist warmers are adorable! I would love something like that for my 16-month-old. He is an avid thumb sucker and freaks out if his dear thumb is covered. So we usually just bag the gloves, even on the coldest days. Wrist warmers like yours would probably solve the problem perfectly. Of course, I don’t knit. Any ideas where one could find some?

  18. Cynthia says:

    Oh my, I do not know what is cuter, the little gnome hat or the little fingerless mitts! The whole little ensemble is too cute!

  19. rachel says:

    I love the hat and mitts! You know how to pick dreamy wool!

  20. cpcable says:

    Love, love, love the little pixie hat! So precious!

  21. barbara says:

    Love that pretty yarn you are working on!

  22. What a cute little hat! Love it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

