Yarn Along

This week has been jumpy. I finished the stripey girl’s dress, and just before sewing on the buttons I decided that I didn’t like the way the straps had turned out. So I frogged back to the armholes.
By next week it’ll be done!
In the meantime, new yarn has arrived and is waiting on top of the bookcase, including a skein made of sugar cane I’ve wanted to test out.
I also got sidetracked by this sweet little hat, which is still waiting for its perfect button.

Reading has been pretty much the same, with me dipping in and out of books and not settling on anything.

I feel like this is February – having me hanging between the last icy winds of winter and the first promises of spring, in between, in the air.
I’ve been feeling restless in general, and am having to remind myself to slow down again, and appreciate slowness and the little things. Like how the purple yarn in the little dress works so well with the Yarn Along button this week.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. corrabelle says:

    Yarn made out of sugar cane? I had no clue! I’m curious how that will work out.

    I too have been wanting to do the aviatrix…it’s just so sweet, and timeless.

  2. swanski says:

    The older I get the more important the button becomes! I hope you find the perfect button 🙂

  3. Tracey says:

    I have heard of yarn made from sugar cane and wondered how it feels. Would you please do a post on it after you test it out?
    Happy Yarn Along.

  4. Ellen says:

    I’ve been very restless too. Don’t know what it is. The sugar cane skein sounds interesting. I agree with Tracey – yes, please post about your sugar cane knitting. I had to laugh at myself. I quickly read how you are dipping in and out of books and I thought it said ‘dripping’. Hmmm…I was imagining you trying to read but being bothered with an overly runny nose. 🙂

  5. it is the restless time of year. the seeds below the earth are starting their journey of unfolding into whatever they will become this spring…we can feel it too. i am jumpy to get in the garden. lol

    🙂
    jen

  6. Lori says:

    it’s fun to search for just the right button, i’m wishing you luck.
    sending warm sea breezes,
    lori xo

  7. emi love says:

    Ah! so *that’s what ‘frogged’ means! I’ve been seeing that on ravelry but hadn’t a clue what that meant.

  8. Heather says:

    Restless is a good description for February. Just cannot seem to start anything.

  9. Anushka says:

    i do like that little aviatrix too.

  10. I love that little hat pattern too. I ended up crocheting a flower and putting on a vintage-y looking button on mine.

  11. I love the aviatrix pattern. My mom made a version of it for my daughter last spring and it’s a favorite here! Hang in there… spring’s right around the corner.

Leave a Reply

