Yarn Along

Quite a bit of knitting this week, but nothing quite ready to share just yet..

I finished reading Water for Elephants, and I am so sad it’s over.
The book has been sitting on my nightstand for almost a week now. I’ve been to the library twice, but I can’t bring myself to return it. I don’t even want to read anything else because it won’t quite measure up.

The story weaves between young Jacob, who, in desperation, jumps a train and enters the world of the travelling circus in the mid 1900s – and present day Jacob, in his nineties, in a nursing home.

A beautiful, beautiful story; and a lot of the outrageous circus anecdotes haven been taken from circus history.
Loved it (can you tell?!)

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Heather says:

    It really was quite a good read. I loved present day Jacob and wondered about his life now. Love the pile of woolens.

  2. Natalie says:

    That’s quite the basket of knitting. The ribbed item has me intrigued. I can’t wait until you share the finished item.

  3. I love your knitting pile, my friend! I have to read that book… I received it for a Christmas present, but something has held me back. Maybe when it comes out of storage at the new house?

  4. Tracey says:

    I am so glad to hear you loved the book that much! I have been trying to decide if I want to read it or not and now I think I will.
    Happy yarn along!

  5. swanski says:

    I’m glad you loved the book, my son also loved it! Your knitting pile is lovely !!

  6. Mia Foley says:

    Wow your hands have been busy Svenna! Your read sounds lovely, I enjoyed the film too x

  7. Rachel says:

    I have been wondering about that book 🙂 I shall look into it!
    All your knitting looks very intriguing!

  8. i read that a few years back and really, really loved it!

  9. Kristen says:

    All of your projects look lovely – can’t wait to see the finished knits!

  10. Lori says:

    svenna you put into words exactly how i felt about this book, it truly touched my heart and stays with me. LOVE your pile of wooly goodness. xx lori

  11. Ellen says:

    My mom loved the book; i began it but never finished it. Just wasn’t the right time then. Must borrow it again to start…and finish this time. Loving all that yarn!

Leave a Reply

