Yarn Along

Amidst a pile of unfinished projects, I cast on and finished a pair of Saartje’s booties (notes here) in a few hours. Such a sweet pattern.
They do seem impossibly small, but then they look so cute it’ll be fine if they only fit for five minutes or so. But maybe next time I shall upsize a little.
Having said that, an identical pair is already on the needles. No, we’re not having twins. But my best friend is due about two weeks before us, so I do feel like I want to make two of everything!

I finished reading Small Island, and while we had a slow start, in the end I really enjoyed the different characters telling their stories in their voices, and how they weave together. A little heartbreaking too, as their lives are connected in ways they don’t even know about.

I am already onto the next in line,Ā The Thorn Birds. On the inside cover it says, A stormy panorama of passion and grief…a uniquely moving love story that spans generations. Can’t wait.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Heather says:

    I remember my mom reading Thorn Birds. At the time it was so scandalous! The booties are precious.

  2. Hege says:

    So cute! Wish I had a baby to knit for…

  3. Oooh that photo is just edibly cute!

  4. niasunset says:

    this is so lovely dear Svenna, so lovely… Thanks and Love, nia

  5. Donna says:

    those are adorable! I have to do some baby knitting soon. I might have to make those.

  6. swanski says:

    I read that book many years ago and it was fantastic! (thornbirds that is). Can’t wait to see what you think. Love the booties šŸ™‚

  7. Tracey says:

    Those little booties are just too cute for words! I know you said they are small and you ned to go up a size, but if I remember correctly babies feet are about the size of a peanut and those booties will allow some wiggle room! šŸ™‚

  8. Ellen says:

    I love that pattern (with a few minor changes). They are very sweet, and the color is nice. You’re right – they are very tiny – upsizing would be good. I made a pair that was upsized, and they lasted longer.

  9. Underground Crafter says:

    They are so cute! How wonderful that you can share a set with your friend and her baby.

  10. Kate says:

    Those booties are just too adorable! I will be def be adding that to my queue šŸ™‚

  11. Gesche says:

    Oh, they are just too cute! Last time I tried to cast on Saartje Booties I didn’t manage the pattern somehow, i will check out your notes, maybe they will help me and I can shower one of the coming babys with a pair šŸ™‚
    The yarn you used is really very pretty.

  12. Lori says:

    i love the booties, just completely adorable! i’ve been saving this pattern, someday i’ll be a grandma again! (fingers crossed). loved the thorn birds, the book and miniseries.

  13. Oh my goodness. These are so so so cute. The picture is amazing and the finished product is devine! How stunning!

  14. Also thanks to you I have now discovered yarn along! thanks

  15. I love the cross straps on these! So sweet on those teeny baby feet.
    Laura

  16. Katie says:

    Oh my, those are adorable! And as for impossibly small, well, we do forget, don’t we?

  17. Pingback: Oh the buttons | Stitch and Purl

  18. Mia Foley says:

    Your first photo is incredibly adorable Svenna. How amazing that your close friend will be giving birth right around your time, lucky friend! These will fit beautifully I’m sure. Happy happy stitching x

Leave a Reply

