Weekending

The weekend started with the long awaited arrival of my Mama’s Easter post – see how the sweets she sent for Kaya were gone in about two minutes?
She also sent gorgeous yarn and socks and this beautiful tin of chocolates. Kaya didn’t realise it was chocolate in there, so at least that was safe for a while.

We had some wonderfully crazy April weather. Our laundry, supposed to be drying outside, got rained on twice and hailed on once – it’s very clean now! Sometimes I just didn’t make it outside in time before the rain had stopped and bright sunshine returned.

In spite of unreliable weather, I got our summer clothes out from the garage and packed up most of the winter things. And then I packed up half of my summer things back. Already I don’t fit in them any more, this bump is definitely a few weeks ahead of what Kaya’s bump used to be. I guess my stomach muscles aren’t what they once were…

We made granola, and rice pudding – which is probably my favourite food ever. Along with pancakes. I usually only make it when Kaya is in bed, because it requires so much uninterrupted stirring time, but there was a spell of uninterrupted sunshine and the little guy was well occupied in the garden.
So I stood by the cooker, book in hand, read and stirred, every now and then snacking from the granola cooling down next to me.
Happy weekend. How was yours?

Linking with Amandaexcept I can’t open her page at the moment, so will link up later.

This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking, Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Weekending

  1. Love that chocolate tin!!

  2. swanski says:

    Love the tin! I wish more treats were wrapped as beautiful as your candy. I keep changing from day to day on what to wear….too hot too cold…I’m okay with it though.

  3. Gesche says:

    Oh, what a lovely package. I have never seen such a chocolate tin. And the yarn “seuftz”…
    Dein Päckchen ist übrigens auch angekommen, sagt Nathan, der zuhause geblieben ist, denn Aaron und ich sind ja gerade bei meinen Eltern und ich konnte es leider noch nicht öffnen, ich freu mich aber schon sehr!
    Liebe Grüße und einen gute Start in die nächste Woche, Gesche

    • Yay, glad to hear it arrived. About time too! Das Paket von meiner Mama hat aber auch wesentlich laenger gebraucht als sonst.. Ich hoffe ihr habt eine gute Zeit bei deinen Eltern!

  4. Erin says:

    What a lovely package! The tin is splendid… splendid indeed! Happy Weekend!

  5. rachel says:

    Yum! You know I’ve never been a big fan of rice pudding but you’ve made me want to try it again. 🙂 Happy Weekend to you, dear Svenna!

    • How do you make yours? English people have a funny way of baking it in the oven – I much prefer the German way of cooking it. We eat it with warm with sugar and cinnamon, while in Turkey my mother in law serves it cold from the fridge with coconut on top! She makes it every time we go, because she knows how much I love rice pudding 🙂

  6. your breakfast sounds fantastic!
    have a great week now!

  7. oh that tin!!!! so pretty! i wish chocolates came in such lovely containers and tins here.

    you know i don’t think i’ve ever had rice pudding. ever. i might need to find a good recipe and give it a try!

Leave a Reply

