kcwc – days 2 and 3

I managed to sew some things that count as clothing in the last two days, although the first project was ‘kids clothes’ in the widest sense. Bump clothes? Almost the same, right?

This is the Early Empire Cinch from Anna Maria Horner’s Handmade Beginnings. A lovely project to use up some favourite scraps of fabric (most of the ones I used are from Amy Butler’s Love collection which I used for this quilt).

Yesterday I did some legitimate kids clothes sewing. I started with a favourite, the Quick Change Trousers, also from Handmade Beginnings.

The orange cotton fabric is leftover from this duvet cover (which I also used for the ties for the Empire Cinch) – there is still more, I wonder if I can squeeze another pair out of them? The owl fabric has been sitting in my cupboard for ages now, I believe it’s Timeless Treasures.

The main fabric on the reverse side is a flannel print, Deer and Acorns by David Textiles. Unfortunately it already looks like it may be prone to pilling, but we’ll see how it holds up. For the bottom panel I used the same owl print but this time in a lovely dark brown.

Turning the pages in Handmade Beginnings, I couldn’t help myself but quickly sew one more project from the leftover flannel and owl print last night. Luckily it really was a fairly quick project and I didn’t stay up too late into the night – phew!

Really, I want to make just about everything in that book, it’s all so sweet!

These are the Cute-as-a-Button Booties:

The pattern calls for double sided interfacing which I didn’t have (and didn’t even know existed), so I hand sewed the inner sole into the booties last night, which was a little fiddly but worked out just fine.

So far so good for this spring’s kids clothes week challenge!

We went into town this morning where I wanted to look for some fabric for that spring coat I wanted to sew for Kaya. It’s time he gets something out of this week, I think.
I was going to either get something red (his favourite colour) or green (matches his eyes), and I came home with some blue fabric – but lovely and summery ones.
They are in the washing machine now, so I might have some time to see if I can figure out the pattern…

Pop over to the flickr pool for more fabulous kids clothes. 

This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to kcwc – days 2 and 3

  1. Heather says:

    You were industrious!

  2. rachel says:

    Look at you go! I have that book from the library and need to try those trousers.

    Your bump is looking so sweet!

  3. Oh my gosh you’re so clever! I wish my sewing machine and I were friends, but I don’t think it’s destined…

  4. Kate says:

    My goodness, those are such great projects. I love the little pants.
    Your bump is adorable 🙂

  5. swanski says:

    love the baby bump! and the pants you made are so adorable !!! You are very talented!

  6. Peggy says:

    GORGEOUS bump!

  7. Shara says:

    The booties turned out great….they seem like a hard project!! I haven’t tried them yet, I’ll have to get over my fear!

  8. enim sou says:

    Du hast ja richtig viel geschafft. Ganz besonders süß finde ich ja die Schühchen. So cute!

  9. Erin says:

    What a beautiful bump! I love the colors you chose!

  10. Pingback: Weekending | Stitch and Purl

  11. Pingback: Weekending | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

