Hello, house

 

We are here. Arrived in our new house, but not quite arrived yet.
This move is a process.
We are spending our days getting to know this house, fitting our lives inside and around it. Getting used to different spaces and dimensions.
Trying to find new ways to fit things; letting go of ideas, habits, and stuff.

I have been doing well keeping calm and positive.
Even when our sofa didn’t make it into our living room. And the wardrobe into our bedroom. When you unpack one box, turn around, and the others have mysteriously multiplied behind your back.

I have laughed at surprises, like finding out that the kitchen cupboard that wouldn’t open is in fact a dishwasher. I am using it for storage. I don’t need a dishwasher in my kitchen. I need space.

Just today, things got to me a little.
With my husband off to work, still no sofa or wardrobe in sight, still having to get rid of our old ones, still having to clean the old house, still more boxes…
It’s been a long day.
So when Kaya went to bed, I ran a bubble bath and grabbed a magazine and a tub of ice cream.
This bath tub has the tap in the corner, and a neat space to lean back in, so it’s actually comfortable! The only thing I was missing was something to hold my reading material. But then I discovered that a baby bump is a pretty good ice cream tub stand, so all was well.

There are things I love here. The colour we painted our living room. The windows. The garden! The water pressure. The lilacs outside.
I am just looking forward to that point, one or two weeks from now, when the boxes will be unpacked, or at least out of sight. When we remember where we put the sugar and when we’ve found Kaya’s missing pair of shoes. When we have our routine back, when we know our way around, when we can sit down (maybe even on a sofa) and just relax.
And call this place our home.

 

This entry was posted in Home, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Hello, house

  1. Gesche says:

    Hi Svenna, so glad to hear from you again and find out you are well and buzzing… 😉 I don’t think shifting has ever been easy, not my favourite thing for sure! But settleling is great. Make sure you take proper care of the two of you these days, right?!
    And I want a picture of that bathtube, it sounds lovely 🙂
    Liebe Grüße,
    Gesche

    • Thank you Gesche, I’ve slowed down a bit now after tiring myself out a little! Phew. Soon it’ll all be done. And I’ll definitely post a picture of our bathtub, just for you 🙂

  2. niasunset says:

    I am glad to hear you again too. I know it is not easy to move a new house. But I hope and wish you all to be fine in your new house. Good Luck. Love, nia

  3. Heather says:

    So good to know you are finding your way to home. Hugs for those tough times too.

  4. Katie says:

    It’s never fun, is it? Except for the part of it that feels so incredibly liberating.

    Many years ago, my husband and I were in the middle of a move into an apartment in a converted attic of an old house. We actually got stuck coming around the bend of a set of spiral stairs with our very heavy loveseat. I had to climb under it to get out again and we had to call friends to help us wedge it out again…and then kindly trade couches with us.

    Good luck as you settle in and find your routine again.

    • Wow, that’s a story too. Every time we’ve moved with this sofa I’ve gone to hide somewhere, it’s always been the most stressful part – because it’s so big. Maybe it was a sign that it would like to live somewhere else. So far we’re actually doing ok without one!

  5. Carla says:

    Moving is always challenging, but I’m glad you like your new place. Wishing you an easy as possible transition.

  6. LRO says:

    Ahhh, The fun of moving, thank goodness for those baby bellies and tubs of ice cream.

    Big hugs GF it will all come together soon enough.

    Leila

  7. Louisa says:

    good luck in your new house, any more photos?
    Louisa

  8. May your home be bright with cheer,
    May your cares all disappear,
    May contentment come your way,
    And may laughter fill your day.

    Wishing you always—
    Walls for the wind
    And a roof for the rain
    And tea beside the fire—
    Laughter to cheer you
    And those you love near you—
    And all that your heart might desire!

    May you have warm words
    on a cold evening,
    A full moon on a dark night,
    And the road downhill
    all the way to your door.
    ~Traditional Irish Blessing for a New Home

    Congratulations on your new home!

  9. reneevlast says:

    Hi Svenna

    Hope you will all settle into your lovely new home very soon. I forgot to answer your previous question – I am in West Sussex in a small village called Findon. The nearest town to us is Worthing. How about you? Whereabouts are you?

    All very best wishes.

  10. Erin says:

    I so so so know this feeling. We are finally, after almost a month, starting to feel like we LIVE in our new home. Blessings, friend… take your time, make it a HOME, not just a dwelling. Love and light, Erin

Leave a Reply

