Yarn Along

With three or four unfinished projects on the needles, it was obvious to start just one more..
I have been waiting for cooler weather to get started on that cardigan for myself, and then the last weekend brought grey skies and rain! I cast on one evening and stayed up way too late. Really late. But I just couldn’t stop.

I love the colour, Lake Chelan Heather, with its different shades of turquoise and a bit of yellow in the mix. This is going to be a Shalom cardi – and I hope that the colder weather will hold up for a bit.
Ok, sunshine will also be fine – after all, there are also some little booties and a blanket to finish.

I finished reading Birdsong. It is about a young Englishman who travels to France in 1910 and falls in love with his host’s wife. The affair doesn’t go according to plan, and we meet him again in the trenches of the First World War.
A little later, a parallel story unfolds, as his granddaughter is trying to learn more about her grandfather and unearths his diaries from her mother’s attic.

I loved the book better and better, the last few chapters were my favourite. Only a shame that it had to finish then.
My own grandfather was a soldier during the Second World War, and something resonated in me about how little we really know about it..

Another great book finished, and so far nothing else waiting in the pipe line.
I need to invite my lovely book lender friend for tea and more supplies!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. casting on for more unfinished projects… I know how you feel! I’m a fickle bird these days.

  2. swanski says:

    Thanks for the book recommendation, it sounds like something I would love to read. Yes, why not cast on another, and another, and another……

  3. Tracey says:

    I have been staying up way too late knitting too, there is just something so addictive about a little yarn and a couple of sticks. I do love how you described your yarn and I am looking forward to seeing your Shalom.
    Have a great yarn along day.

  4. emma says:

    That yarn is very pretty and is going to knit up into a lovely shalom, look forward to seeing it also. Books sounds super interesting.

  5. Heather says:

    So glad you were able to start your sweater. I do love my Shalom card. And that book will be added to my pile.

  6. The blues are lovely!
    I really enjoyed knitting my Shalom last summer.

  7. Leslie says:

    It’s always time to cast on……..

  8. Erin says:

    I can’t wait to see your finished Shalom! The colour is one of my faves… Beautiful!

  9. naturmama says:

    The colour is BEAUTIFUL! Makes me wanna… 😉 I am REALLY TRYING to finish up projects and I am well on the way so far! Liebe Grüße!

  10. Lori says:

    i hope your weather holds out svenna, your cardigan is going to be gorgeous. i have a similar blue on the needles too for a tea leaves.

  11. Pingback: Button Love | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

