22 Weeks

Weeks: 22
Bump: 92cm

Everything is growing well and happily.
We had our second ultrasound scan two weeks ago, and everything is looking good.
The little bean is rumbling and kicking. My husband and Kaya have both been patient and were able to feel kicks in the last few days too, which is fabulous. I love feeling all the pokes and rumblings whenever I stop and sit for a moment in the day.

Both of my men came to the ultrasound and were allowed in, in spite of an initial letter from the hospital saying that children were definitely not allowed in the room, and also, no creche facilities available, thank you very much.
Last time round, I opted for the surprise while the Daddy-to-be found out whether we were having a boy or a girl. Then he told all his family. And all my family.
Eventually I caved in to peer pressure and let him tell me for my birthday present, eight weeks before Kaya was born.

This time, I thought about giving the surprise a go again, but in the end curiosity won. The husband was going to find out anyway. So we all did. Now we know.
But I’m not telling you – yet. There are a few people we want to tell in person still.
Later on, pink or blue knitting will probably give it away in any case, right?

I’m embracing my ‘baby brain’ these days.
I don’t remember having any problems with my memory last time round – this time, it seems to be switching off regularly.
I go out to the shops, thinking I won’t need a shopping list for only bread and sausages.
I come home with flowers, milk, and bread.
I keep spending lots of time walking up and down the stairs, because I can’t remember why I went upstairs. Until I’m back downstairs. Repeat.

A friend with a seven-month-old has dropped off bags and bags of clothes (both baby and maternity), a moses basket and even a baby gym, so together with the things we still have from Kaya we are probably pretty much sorted.

Very few things left on the shopping list – a few more on the knitting list though!

Last time, my husband forbade me to knit any more, because he didn’t think any baby could wear so many things. Although I don’t think I really knit that much. About two weeks before the due date I was knitting little hearts I later used for a mobile for Kaya. Because, how can you stop knitting when you’re so close?
Let’s see how much I can get away with this time..

This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 22 Weeks

  1. oh my goodness I almost can’t look – you’ve stayed so beautifully neat and slim! I’m about a month ahead of you I think, and fit to burst already. I certainly haven’t been able to lift my preschooler for a long while (which I miss!)

  2. niasunset says:

    Oh dear Svenna, this is wonderful! and also seems so exciting, especially for Kaya! You seem so beautiful 🙂 In here we say, “Allah nazarlardan, tüm kem gözlerden korusun!”…I am sure your husband will help you about this. Thank you, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

  3. swanski says:

    You look so tiny!!! (at least to me). You are over half way and boy has the time flown by 🙂

  4. Heather says:

    Gorgeous! What an exciting time. Don’t stop knitting. I love seeing it all.

  5. rachel says:

    Svenna! I am so happy for you. I’m excited to see baby knits, in blue or pink. 😉
    Also, you look fabulous!

  6. Anushka says:

    svenna, do NOT stop knitting! they grow out of it all so fast and you’ll want a puerperium in every size. esp. with your cooler weather there. you are completely and utterly adorable by the way. i love both of these shots. i think you’re having a girl. just thought i’d throw my guess out there. and that mommy brain memory loss thing… didn’t go away for me after having indy.

  7. Pingback: This Moment | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

