Regulars

I don’t think there’s been a day since we arrived in Germany that we haven’t been to one playground or another.
Yes, we have them at home – but it’s just not the same. I feel like here, I don’t even have to look, and I find real gems. At home, well, I have to look a lot harder.

Our current favourite is a few minutes walk from my mother’s house. We pack my sister’s old buggy with shovels, a ‘bucket’ (really, a mixing bowl. Couldn’t find a bucket. The bowl does just fine though) and a sieve. Diggers are optional.
I pack my bag with a snack and a water bottle, my book and my knitting, and we set off.
I have my regular bench, (usually) in the sunshine.

We have been the only people there on quiet mornings, and I have shared my bench with various others at busier times. We’ve been in blazing sunshine, barefoot and t-shirted, the suncream still sticky. We have been with wellies and rain coats and drizzle.

Kaya loves the climbing and sliding, and ‘selling ice cream’ from the little yellow house, for “one hundred thirteen nine pounds” a scoop to unsuspecting mothers and children.
But his real love is the sand.
(I don’t know why we only ever get grass or that rubbery surface stuff on our playgrounds at home. Sand should be the key ingredient.)

Many a playground friendship have been made this week over shared shovels, digging up and filling holes together. Sand piles have been build, and castles and houses, and diggers have worked ever so hard on sandy building sites.
All the while I sit, knit, help settle the odd quarrel, supply snacks, kiss bumps better, and dig my toes in the sand (unless it’s muddy. Then I keep my boots on).


It’s not quite summer by the beach, but as close as it gets.

This entry was posted in kids, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Regulars

  1. nanacathy says:

    It looks like you having such fun whatever the weather, and still able to knit at the same time. Sounds like sheer bliss!

  2. enimSou says:

    Spielplätze sind schon ziemlich gut, vor allen Dingen, wenn Sand zum Spielen da ist. Da kann man die Kleinen unbesorgt und streßfrei spielen lassen. Die Kinder finden so viele interessante Spiele dort, besonders, wenn andere mit dabei sind. Ich muss ehrlich sagen, dass mir die Spielplätze in London nicht besonders gefallen haben und ich habe schon ein paar gesehen, aber sie waren zu voll, zu eng oder wie du schreibst nur mit ollem trockenen Gras und diesem Gummizeugs bedeckt. Irgendwie schade. Vielleicht gibt es dort nicht so viele Sandspielplätze, weil das regelmäßige Auswechseln ziemlich Mühe macht und Geld kostet. Schade, immer auf Kosten der Kinder. Ich wünsch euch noch viel Spaß – wo seid ihr denn in D? Nord, Süd, Ost, West? Hier im Norden jedenfalls brauchte man bisher bestimmt noch keine Sonnencreme. 🙂

    • Es ist schade. Scheint bei uns ein landesweites Problem zu sein, wenn es in London auch nicht viel brauchbares gibt – bei unserer eher ländlichen Lage überrascht es vielleicht erstmal nicht so.
      Es gibt bestimmt einen Grund dafür; Geld oder ‘Health and Safety’, damit hat man es auch sehr in England. Wir sind in Osnabrück – inzwischen auch nicht mehr Sonnencreme-Wetter, das haben wir nach der ersten Woche auch hinter uns gelassen!

  3. barefootnmama says:

    Looks like fun to me! 🙂

  4. swanski says:

    I’ve never thought why they do use wood chips! at our playgrounds locally. Who wants to fall on wood chips? Sand is the best surface area. I’m so glad you have lovely parks to knit at while he plays!

Leave a Reply

