A little walk through the old town

There are still so many photos of our trip to Germany on my camera, waiting to be shared. So even though we are back home now, I thought I’d take you on a little walk through the old part of my hometown, Osnabrück:

In 1648 a series of peace treaties that ended the Thirty Years’ War were signed here and in a neighbouring town. Reminders like these can be found all over the city.

This is where the yearly Christmas market takes place; some pictures from our last visit in December are here, and a few sunnier ones of other parts of the town here.

Bicycle fashion: I tried to get one of these flower garlands for my bike, but of course I waited until the last day and wasn’t lucky at such short notice.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A little walk through the old town

  1. Heather says:

    Thank you for giving me a little taste of your home.

  2. JenMun(a) says:

    danke fürs mitnehmen!;) …sehr viel Sandstein, wie in Münster auch..es ist interessant wie sehr die Region die Häuser geprägt hat nicht wahr? Ich bin sogar ein oder zwei mal in Osnabrück gewesen, es war sehr schön!

  3. Thank you for this lovely walk of your home town. I love the laid back pedestrian feel including bicycles.
    In August my nephew will be getting married in a small town in Germany. I can only imagine such a lovely setting for their wedding and look forward to their pictures.

    • Svenna says:

      Congratulations to your nephew! I’m sure he found a lovely place. We just went to a friend’s wedding last weekend, at a beautiful little chapel I’d never even knew existed!

  4. reneevlast says:

    Thank you for sharing – so lovely. I’d love to go to Germany one day. I especially love the bicycle andd bicycle culture! I wish the UK was more cycle friendly and cycle oriented.

    • Svenna says:

      Absolutely – I really miss proper bike paths here. I’m sure a lot more people would cycle if it was safer.
      I’m still hoping to get ahold of one of those garlands though.. 🙂

  5. jbsavage says:

    I love seeing the pictures of Germany. Our kids go to a German language school and in the 6th grade they will have an opportunity to travel to Germany.

Leave a Reply

