28 weeks

Here we are, in the last trimester, and suddenly everything has moved a little bit closer, a little more into my consciousness.
Of course, there is the breathlessness when I only think about going upstairs to our bedroom, the heartburn and the swollen feet (the heat is helping with that no doubt), but other than that everything seems to be going as it should.

I had an appointment with the midwife today, who checked everything there was to check, took my bloods and listened to the baby’s heartbeat. The little bean is already head down, which accounts for the joyful kicks landing on my ribs. Let’s hope it’s comfortable enough a position to stay in for the next couple of weeks.

I am thinking about nesting, as in: how many cardigans/longies/hats/blankets can I still knit/sew? I tried making a list to prioritise, but that is not so easy. There are only few things we really still need. There is a lot still I want to make.
I haven’t gone through Kaya’s baby things yet, but a friend has dropped of so many clothes that I doubt we need to get anything. We did buy one little sleepsuit on my husband’s birthday last week, so the little one can have one special welcoming outfit.

I reserved a busload of books at the library about pregnancy and childbirth, but I am returning most of them unread. You can really confuse yourself if you want to.
I’m sticking to my name books.
This is a tricky one. We need a name that is pronounceable in English, German and Turkish, and doesn’t have any funny connotations in either language (that is the tricky bit. Part of my husband’s family is from a Kurdish/Arabic speaking are, and sometimes I feel like everything means something funny in Arabic).

I don’t really want to have a definite name picked out, I like having a shortlist and then meeting the baby first to see which name is right. But even a shortlist is proving difficult this time round.
Thus far, there is only one name we both like. And I’m not sure if there isn’t another one out there. I have a strong feeling about the sound and meaning of the name I am looking for, but I just haven’t found it yet.
Or maybe we have.
Who knows.
I’m sure it’ll all come together at the right time. Until then, I”ll eat some more ice cream.

This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 28 weeks

  1. corrabelle says:

    Oh, we had such a hard time picking out a name for our newest. It wasn’t until the day she was born that we really agreed on a name. It will come!

  2. reneevlast says:

    What a sweet and lovely post! Enjoy your third trimester…and the ice cream 🙂 especially in this weather!

  3. Anushka says:

    i’m glad to know you were eating an ice cream cone. i was wondering what was happening in the first photo – thought maybe you were blowing a whistle of some sort! : ) good luck with the name, i’m sure you’ve come up with something lovely. such a beautiful landscape behind you! wow… don’t stop knitting. you’ll be wanting to knit more than you are able after baby is here.

  4. Heather says:

    Love the photo of you laughing. Names are oh so tricky. We had names picked for our boys, but had a harder time with our daughter. We narrowed it finally down to two and decided immediately when she arrived. It was just her.

  5. swanski says:

    you look so lovely! I loved picking names-it was the agreeing part that was difficult. Oh and a name could not end in a vowel because our last name started with a vowel and it would not sound right to me…..crazy 🙂 I think you can knit everything on your list!!!

Leave a Reply

