one for the road

Last Christmas Kaya was given one of those rugs with roads and car parks printed on it. It lives in Germany in his grandma’s house, and is such a great thing. During our last visit he played with it all the time, lining up his cars in endless traffic jams across the rug and his Oma’s sitting room floor.
For Kaya’s upcoming trip to Turkey, I wanted to make him a lightweight version to take along.

I’ve had plans to make something like this for a long time. I like the way it doubles up as a drawstring bag to carry little toy cars in as well.
But this time, I went for the lazy version.
When I saw the roads fabric (that I also use for Kaya’s backpack lining) in Germany, I immediately thought of using it for a little travel road rug.

I decided not to make it into a drawstring bag in the end, because Kaya wouldn’t be able to use the corners of his road fabric – and this circumstance, the more road, the better.
Instead I added two pieces of ribbon to one side of the fabric when I stitched it up, so it can be rolled up and tied, ready to go.

I used one piece of roads fabric, 24″ square, and the same size fabric for the back.
The backing fabric is leftovers from an old duvet cover that has already found a new life in various other projects.
Stitched together right sides facing with a 1/2″ seam and a few inches left open for turning, this was one speedy project. Then it only needed ironing and topstitching – voilà.

Kaya is already using it to park his cars in his room, so I imagine it’s not strictly for the road only!

This entry was posted in kids, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to one for the road

  1. Heather says:

    The perfect travel companion.

  2. Katie says:

    So cute. My boys would love something like this!

  3. nanacathy2 says:

    Fabulous idea. Wish they had that fabric in the UK too.

  4. JenMun(a) says:

    das wär auch was für meine beiden! tolle idee!

  5. rachel says:

    I love it! Such a great idea. I think I may need to find some street fabric for a little driver here.

  6. Céline Richard says:

    Adorable! Where did you get this road fabric?

Leave a Reply

