Day One

My little big boy had his first solo morning at Waldorf kindergarten today.
He has been waiting and looking forward to this day, and jumped in with both feet.

I was a little more miserable. I wonder how many mothers wander the towns on first days of school and kindergarten, a little teary eyed, a little lost.
Luckily, my husband had the morning off and we made the most of spending a little time together by ourselves.
We went to a cafe and narrowed down the baby name list a bit, and wandered aimlessly around the park for a while, before driving back to the kindergarten way too early and sitting in the car park, waiting for pick-up time.

I’m sure I’ll get used to it all. After all, this is just the beginning of a whole new era. And I am so grateful we are off to a good start; I know he will have the best time with his new friends.
I will just have to get used to having a few mornings a week of space and time where things can get done – I shall better make the most of that, it won’t be too long before I have a new little one for company.

This entry was posted in kids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day One

  1. reneevlast says:

    What a BIG milestone for all of you! Looking forward to hearing about Kaya’s first day. Big hug for you – I’d be so emotional and tearful.

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    Oh it is so hard when the little ones take their first steps into the big wide world without you. And the hardest part I found was that with each child it got harder and harder, for my number three I ended up in bed for the day feeling awful. Hope you little one had a great day. Day 2 is easy for mamas.

  3. That’s a great first day photo! First days of school are always so exciting, for kids if not for parents…

  4. Franzi says:

    Oh liebe Svenna,
    ich kann Deine Gefühle sooo gut nachvollziehen … ging mir genauso .. und ist selbst heute noch manchmal so … da hast Du jetzt einen richtig grpßen Jungen!!!
    Liebe Grüße von uns dreien an euch drei!!!

  5. Pingback: Yarn Along | Stitch and Purl

  6. what a big kid!! Sorry I’ve been so absent in the blogosphere… it’s been so busy!

Leave a Reply

