Yarn Along

I’m about halfway through my Mama Vertebrae, but I keep getting distracted by the odd quick, little, in-between projects.
I stayed up late the other night to finish a new hat for Kaya’s first day at kindergarten. He picked the pattern (this one) himself, and I happened to have some blue and white yarn in my cupboard.
It is Schulgarnย (‘school yarn’) that you can buy in German supermarkets to crochet potholders! It is just a simple cotton yarn, sturdy but soft, and I was quite happy with the result.

Whenย I presented Kaya with it however, he proclaimed that he really wanted a red and white hat! He wore it for about two seconds, and definitely not for kindergarten, but he might just change his mind one day.

After a few weeks filled with a whole lot of pregnancy and birthing literature, I finally felt up for a novel again. I pulled Jamaica Innย from the bookcase, on loan from a friend, and am enjoying the slightly eerie beginnings of this book.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. reneevlast says:

    I love the hat Kaya picked ๐Ÿ™‚ I am sure he will wear it soon. I hope he got on well at school ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think I’ll be taking another leaf out of your book and also start a few projects I can rotate/alternate/work on as I go along. Sometimes, something like a giant jumper can get overwhelming, non? Items like hats and stuff for little people are good for in-betweens ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy knitting!

    • I agree, I just get too fed up with endless rows of adult size knitting – I guess that’s why I mostly stick to knits for little people!!
      Kaya had a great time the other day; maybe it’s just not cold enough yet for him to appreciate his new hat ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. swanski says:

    I hope he does wear the hat one day, boys! Love gray and I could buy loads and loads of that color, it just goes with everything!!

  3. woolythymes says:

    Boys!! Gotta love ’em!!

  4. the lady bird says:

    I love the hat. Girls are just as fickle about their color choices too …..
    How much longer do you have before the sweet babe joins your family?

  5. greenfreaks says:

    well, i think the hat is lovely.

  6. corrabelle says:

    haha sounds like one of my little guys. Very particular about what he wears;) Lovely hat, regardless! And I do like your cardigan, nice and cozy:)

  7. Leslie says:

    Cute hat!
    Boys will definitely be boys.

  8. eidolons says:

    You know, I can’t help it. I love that grey. Try as I might, it’s neutrals all the way for me. (:

  9. What a wonderful yarn! Great job at letting it go… I would have been quite put off that he didn’t like it!

Leave a Reply

