Catching up

I took a little internet holiday these past few days, while my Mama was visiting from Germany.

It was lovely to have our Oma here to build ramps for Kaya’s cars, hold the baby for me to be able to cook a meal without interruption and using both hands (although I did manage to burn one! Thank goodness for Indian takeaway), to go for walks with torches and to talk and to knit that extra pair of woolly socks for Kaya’s kindergarten wellie boots.

We had an adventurous journey dropping her off at the bus station yesterday, braving wind and weather, only to find that our train home wasn’t running due to flooding. Finally on a bus with my two boys, I was grateful we made it through the flooded roads with only a little water seeping into the bus from under the doors!!
The driver dropped us off at the top of our road because our part of town was closed. I already saw me hauling a tired toddler and a by now very hungry baby through the water to our house, but luckily the flooded area of our street didn’t reach our house. I hope the water didn’t do too much damage; by this morning it was all gone.

Now we have a few days before the next set of grandparents arrive from Turkey.
Kaya and his Daddy went out armed with rain coats and a shopping list this morning, leaving me and a restless baby to cuddle at home and watch the wind blow the last of the leaves off the trees.

There’ll be a bit of catching up today, on missed blog posts and to do list items, savouring these past few days and preparing for the next.
There is a birthday present for a little friend to organise (a 4 year old girl.. any ideas? I’d know lots of boy things!), and the hows and wheres and whats of this Christmas to think about (just a little over a week until December, how did that happen?)

I hope your week has been a good one so far!

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Catching up

  1. reneevlast says:

    What a beautiful photo! Lovely to hear from you. How lovely to have parents/grandparents over! And what a bus/flood adventure you’ve had. Over here, little miss Bea is keeping me busy, bless her. Oh – how lovely indeed it would be if we could meet up for a cuppa and have a knit and natter 🙂

  2. Peggy says:

    4 year old girl…I had one of those once. A little duvet and matching pillow for her dollie? A little rucksack to carry the dolly? Or if these are too time-consuming for a lady with two wee ones, buy “The Tiger Who Came to Tea.” Not beautifully illustrated but SUCH a lovely story, still remembered by my children (now in their 20s). Also “Milly Molly Mandy-” simple, repetitive stories about a little girl, maybe 4 years old!
    Love the pictures. Have fun with the in-laws and good luck speaking Turkish!

  3. Tracey says:

    I am so glad you mom was able to come an visit, I know it was soul touching for both of you.
    The wee one here is four, that is my favorite age. How about a little tea set or some art supplies [art items are always a big hit here]. Pretty hair bows are nice or maybe an cute littel skirt.

Leave a Reply

