snack time

IMG_8925

My husband once joked that when my mum comes to visit, she comes with one suitcase for clothes, and one for books.
Well, his parents come with an extra suitcase for food. That is a fact.

And it doesn’t only enhance all our meals this week (all of which my mother in law is responsible for – she took charge of the kitchen as soon as she was through the door, yay!), it also adds special touches to our snack times.
Also, it makes us feel like it might be snack time a whole lot more often, ahem.

Apart from all those lovely nuts and things up there, my new favourite is üzüm sucuk – there is one little piece left on the plate, on top.
I am told it’s a specialty of the town where my husband was born, in the East of Turkey.
It is made by threading walnut pieces on a string and dipping them into boiled down grape juice. Much like candle dipping, I imagine, only with delicious results!
I’m doing my best to restrain myself, because when this bag is empty it’ll all be gone.

IMG_8820

This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to snack time

  1. that stuff looks mighty fine!

  2. Wow! Looks amazing 🙂

  3. Kasia says:

    That really looks delicious!

  4. reneevlast says:

    Oh Svenna those look dee-lish! Lucky you 🙂

  5. Pingback: In the kitchen | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

