Weekending

IMG_0388

Saturday was a busy day with a bumpy bus ride across the countryside to the birthday party of one of Kaya’s friends, last minute errands, and friends coming over to ours later on.
So today had to be a quiet sort of day. We went for a walk and while the snow that was announced has not arrived yet, it is bitter cold. The wind makes the baby gasp and hide away in the sling.
I am hoping to finally cast on for my Downtonesque shawl (for the knit-along) this evening. Kaya in the meantime has been busy with his own knitting. You saw it here – our birthday present for him – a knitting fork, also called lucet. Apparently the vikings used something like this to make their ropes. “Is this a present for boys?”, the husband asked. Gender neutral, my love, gender neutral.
When we were getting ready for our bus rides yesterday, Kaya asked if he could take his knitting on the bus too. A boy after my own heart.

 
IMG_0354

Weekending with Amanda.
I hope you are enjoying yours and will have a good start to the new week.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weekending

  1. JenMun(a) says:

    solch ruhige Sonntage sind doch die schönsten oder? Ich finde die Strickgabel(?) ganz wunderbar auch für Jungs(!);) seine Kordel schaut wunderschön aus!

  2. geschea says:

    Oh, da musste ich jetzt aber doch sehr herzhaft lachen, bei der Frage deines Mannes. Das hätte meiner gewesen sein können. Aber wenn die Wikinger es schon für ihre Seile benutzt haben… 😉
    Werde ich mir gleich mal auf meine Geschenkideenliste für Aaron setzen, für in zwei Jahren oder so.
    Liebe Grüße,
    Gesche

  3. Renee says:

    Ohhh! What a lovely present for Kaya – what a great idea! I knit on the bus too 🙂

    I look forward to seeing your Downtonesque shawl take shape!

    Enjoy the week ahead.

  4. rachel says:

    That knitting fork is different than the knitting towers we have. The bright wool he’s using is lovely.
    Can’t wait to see your shawl! xoR

  5. karen says:

    When my son was little he loved yarny crafts! This fork would have been perfect for him.

  6. Tracey says:

    I have never heard of a knitting fork and now will have to see about getting one for my son {who I really want to teach to knit}.

  7. Debbie says:

    I do a little bit of Anglo-Saxon historical reenactment sometimes and recently learned to use a lucet myself. I think it’s a little like French knitting. I love that brightly coloured braid,

  8. Donna says:

    Sounds like you had a lovely weekend. I love the colors in that yarn!

  9. Heather says:

    Definitely gender neutral 🙂

  10. the habit of being says:

    which pattern are you using for the da kal?
    and yes, the gender neutral thing. same conversation here.

  11. What a wonderful gift! Where did you find one!? I think my Kate would love it!

    • I bought it at a natural toy shop here online, but I’ve seen them on etsy from american sellers. If you search for ‘lucet’ you can find them by themselves, or with a skein of yarn!

  12. Pingback: Yarn Along | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

