Yarn Along

 

IMG_0561

 

I’m not entirely sure what I’ve done this past week, but I know that it didn’t have much to do with either knitting or reading.

I did start reading Life of Pi (which, incidentally, is called Shipwrecked with Tiger in German – quite appropriate to yesterday’s post too, no?), a Christmas present from my papa. But I only seem to manage a few paragraphs every night while the baby has his last feed before we go to bed, and I’m only a few pages in.

Also, I cast on for this shawl. The stripey section is easy to memorize, so hopefully I shall pick up a bit of momentum here soon.
This is the first time I’m using lace weight yarn, and it’s not as scary as I thought. But it does seem a long way until I’m going to get anywhere near the lace part of the pattern..

..Looking forward to seeing what everybody else has been up to this week!

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. I wanted to read that before the movie came out, but didn’t find (make?) the time. Not the I’ve been to see a movie in forever anyway! And I actually thought that was what your post title yesterday was referencing! Ha!

    • Funny, I didn’t even realize until I wrote today’s post. Maybe Kaya secretly read the book already 🙂
      I haven’t seen the film yet either – not that I’ve been to the cinema since…um… can’t remember really…

  2. Clair says:

    I’ve heard that this book is great, but somehow it still hasn’t made it onto my shelf.

    The shawl pattern is beautiful! It will be so exciting to see the final product. =)

  3. Carly says:

    Your yarn looks lovely, bet the shawl will be amazing 🙂

  4. Renee says:

    I read the book a while back – it’s very good 🙂 The shawl looks loooovely! Looking forward to it.

  5. Alisa says:

    love the colors for your shawl!!

  6. Emma says:

    Gorgeous yarn Svenna, and I would love to hear how you get on with Life of Pi as I haven’t read the book either and everyone seems to rave about it, so perhaps I should get on the bandwagon… x

  7. *kate says:

    I’m looking forward to your thoughts on Life of Pi. I read it last year after hearing so much about it and found it took a long time to “get into” it.

  8. JenMun(a) says:

    oh das kenn ich gar nicht..typisch, lebe irgendwie hinter dem Mond;) das Muster für den Schal ist toll, bin gespannt wies wird! und wegen dem Kaffee, lass dir doch bei gelegenheit mal was mitbringen oder mitschicken;) kann ihn dir nur wärmstens empfehlen..habe neulich noch einen artikel über qualität und quantität gelesen: http://www.kreativberg.com/2013/01/selbstversorgung-qualitat-vor-quantitat.html
    mir geht es auch so..und oft ist weniger mehr, weil man einfach sorgsamer damit umgeht..deswegen “gönn” ich mi den kaffee ab und an;)
    lg! sarah

  9. Thanks for your sweet words about the baby! The colors you are knitting the shawl up in are beautiful. I am excited to hear what you have to say about the book. I tried to listen to this book as an audio book a few years back, and did not have much luck getting into the story. I think this may have had much more to do with the narrator and the fact that I was driving. Hope you have a wonderful rest of your day!

  10. karen says:

    love the shawl pattern! Glad you have it memorized for most of it, makes it an easy knit. I hope you get more pages read in the coming weeks so we can hear what you think!

    • It does make a difference when you can just pick up a project and get knitting. I still have to pay attention though, otherwise I miss the increases! I’ll probably need a mindless project to run alongside… right? 😉

  11. Heather says:

    You shawl will be gorgeous with those colors. I find Kirsten’s patterns to be thorough and easy to follow. Too funny about your book and K’s pursuits yesterday.

  12. lori says:

    loved life of pi! and your shawl, so very pretty svenna.

  13. rachel says:

    That shawl pattern is breathtaking! So beautiful.

    I hope enjoy Life of Pi – it’s been a while since I read it but I quite enjoyed it. I keep having intentions to read and somehow the day ends before it happens.

  14. I loved Life of Pi. Cant wait to see your shawl, friend.

  15. corrabelle says:

    I think i’m going to re-read Life of Pi before I see the movie-it was a good book!
    That shawl looks gorgeous-I can’t wait to see how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

