Weekending

 

IMG_0697

I tried to build a snowman with Kaya, but all we managed was a rather sad smallish heap. I blame reduced mobility due to baby-in-sling. We had to wait for the husband to come home from work for the real thing.
Batu and I watched from the warmth inside, and handed out supplies through the window. Nuts for eyes and buttons, a tea towel for the head, early empire cinch for a scarf.

In England everything seems to shut down with the first white powdering, something I’ve always made fun of.
This time I’m happily joining in, staying cooped up at home.
The roads are alright, but I don’t fancy risking the icy footpaths with the baby.
For now, there is enough snow and fresh air and icicles in the garden. Enough food and tea and stories in the house while the waterproofs are dripping on the carpet.

Happy weekend, everyone.
Joining Amanda.

 

This entry was posted in Seasons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekending

  1. Renee says:

    Lovely!

    Like you, I also make fun of things grinding to a halt here with snow (back home in Canada, this would be business as usual). However, I do love that it grinds to a halt – I really appreciate the pause and quiet time 🙂

    Keep warm and well 🙂

  2. It’s been snowing off and on all day here too… powder, nothing big, but it’s nice to be cozy and warm with my family. Great snowman, Kaya!

  3. Tina says:

    I miss snow and the ability to make snowmen ! Your photo made me smile and it has brought back fond memories 🙂

  4. karen says:

    Now that is a snowman!! I am trying to imagine you with a baby in a sling and creating a snowman…doesn’t sound doable. Glad you are enjoying the wintry weather!!

  5. the habit of being says:

    sounds like a great weekend! and yes, i think staying home and settling into and enjoying the snow is a good thing 🙂

  6. This weekend sounds perfect. I am impressed you attempted the snowman with Batu in the sling! Super mom you are!!!

Leave a Reply

