Spring

IMG_2511

Yesterday was Kaya’s spring festival at kindergarten. A room full of proud children and even prouder parents.
Kaya, sitting with his back to the small audience, turning around every two minutes, waving and blowing kisses.
He was a little seed in the pageant. Sigh.
He was supposed to be sleeping in the earth, while King Winter still ruled, before Lady Spring arrived. Instead he turned and reprimanded me in a whisper (that was much too loud to be classes as a whisper), because I had taken his kindergarten slippers home the day before. “And now I have to be in my socks, Mama!”
At the end, every child was given their Easter basket with their dyed eggs, growing seeds, flower child and – the children gasping collectively – three chocolate eggs. Guess how long they lasted.

It is still winter in our seasonal corner at home. But even outside feels like soon it might not just be spring on the calendar, so that must change.  We can use a bit of spring.
Today we will make time to cut a few little branches, pick some of those daffodils in the front garden. They are called ‘Osterglocken’ in German, Easter bells, and they are ringing.
I own a yellow dress that I have been wearing every Easter for years, because that’s when I know spring is here!

I have started my spring-clean clear-out in a bid to get ourselves organised before the move. The first bags have gone to the bin, the charity shop, to be sold or given away.
That feels good.
I’d like to thank you all for your kind words and thoughts after Tuesday’s post. It is easy to feel downhearted, but deep down I know it’ll be alright. Of course.
I’m not sure who said it (my mum does, but probably someone else before her): “Everything will be alright in the end. If it’s not alright it’s not the end.”

And so I am starting to feel my way into this new beginning, this new spring and what it might bring for us. A few hiccups, surely, but hopefully also a lot of sunshine and new buds.

Happy Spring!

IMG_2515

This entry was posted in Life, Seasons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spring

  1. meghann says:

    I’ve heard that quotation before & I love it, too.
    We lived in a rental for two years – just before we moved here & bought the house we live in now – that was for sale the entire time we lived in it. It was unsettling, for sure. I loved that little house, too, but it never really felt like ours because we never knew when we would have to move. (As it happens, it never did sell & another family is renting it right now. I wish I’d been able to see the future while we were there & know it wasn’t going to sell – I think we could have settled in a little better.)
    I hope you soon find another home that you love more than the one you are in now, that you can live in as long as you want. xo

    • Ah, if only we could look into the future sometimes.. that must have been even worse for you, at least we had almost a year where we felt fairly settled :-/
      I’m sure it’s our turn for something long-term now though; I hope this’ll be the last move for a while!!

  2. papa says:

    Liebe Svenna, der Satz ist von Oscar Wilde: „Am Ende wird alles gut. Wenn es nicht gut wird, ist es noch nicht das Ende.“
    Liebe Grüße

    • Ah, danke, Papa. Das haette ich ja vielleicht auch noch rausfinden koennen! Ich glaube, das Zitat wurde kuerzlich in einem Film benutzt, und das ist alles, was man auf der ersten google-Seite als info bekommt – da hab ich aufgegeben! 🙂

  3. rachel says:

    Oh, dear Kaya. Haha, those not-so-whispered whispers. 😉

    I am feeling ready for spring. Nothing close to a flower even budding here but in its time we’ll see spring!

    • Sometimes it actually feels like spring already, but today – other than seeing those flowers – it could well be winter still. There is still snow on the hills too!

  4. Renee says:

    Kaya is so funny! You are right, don’t you worry at all – it will all be alright 🙂

    Enjoy the weekend and fingers crossed spring will come to the UK very soon! xx

Leave a Reply

