Getting ready to run

20130522_161347Yesterday was the first really warm and sunny day in ages (followed by grey skies and hail today, but never mind that). I managed to leave the boys with the Mr for half an hour in the afternoon (cue protest from all men in the house. Really? Just half an hour!).
I put on my running shoes, for the first time in ages.
It’s been a bumpy week, but that half hour gave me such a lift.

I’m hoping to have a few more of those half hours in the coming weeks. Quite apart from preserving my sanity, I just signed up for the Race For Life, in aid of Cancer Research UK. It’s just 5km, not an enormous race like some amazing people do – although, running a marathon is something I’d love to do one day in my life! Nevertheless, I’ll need to shape up a bit for it.
My race is still two months away, and I am making some plans for along the way, but I just set up a fundraising page and thought I’d put it out there! I’ll keep you posted.

 

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Getting ready to run

  1. Wow! Good for you! I’m such a lazy bones and can rarely get a half hour with my other half away so much. But I keep saying i’ll work through the NHS “couch to 5k” podcasts… Maybe I’ll actually do it one of these days 🙂

  2. organicnopanic says:

    Yeah-good on you Svenna! X x

  3. Renee says:

    yay! well done! race for life is such fun – i’ve done a couple before (i have not run for a few years now, though). good luck and enjoy 🙂

  4. Morag Duller says:

    I love my running, it is my me time – gives me the space and time that I need to stay sane. Hope you carry on even after for 5K. I also find it is a great way to see the area wherever we are – usually take my running shoes on holiday with us and when little one is in bed I usually take myself off to explore.

    • It’s a lovely way to find new paths and like you, I really enjoy having a bit of space to myself. I think I might have to find another race to keep going afterwards, I’m so bad at keeping going without a goal to work towards..

Leave a Reply

