Making & Listening

IMG_4252I remember a time when one of my mum’s favourite dinners to cook was a potato and broccoli casserole. She made it so often that eventually I refused to eat it. I probably had corn flakes instead. I swore I’d never eat it again.
But you know what they say.
Then, last summer, I visited friends and they served up this yummy dish with potatoes and lentils that was so very similar. And I remembered that potato and broccoli casserole. Not all that bad with a bit of perspective (i.e. ten years between me and the last plateful).

Quite apart from that, my husband has been complaining that I experiment too much in my cooking. As in, trying out too many new recipes and never ever cooking the food he likes. So now we have come up with a basic weekly menu (of course, still some room for me to experiment).
This vegetable bake is part of it. Even my husband likes it, although I know that any dish without meat isn’t really a meal to him.
I love it. It’s yummy, and there is space to experiment, yes, there is. Especially if you’re making it near the end of the week and have veggies that need using up. So it’s never quite the same.

Here is how I make it:
I cook potatoes and lentils until just-about-done for 15-20 minutes, and some little broccoli florets for 5 or so. Then I pop the vegetables into an oven dish, and mix ca 100 ml of cream with salt, pepper, and whatever else takes our fancy that day. Mint, usually. Last week I tried dill, and that was delicious too.
I pour that over the vegetables and grate some cheese on top. Half an hour in the oven at moderate heat, ta dah.

Do you have a go-to recipe like that? What do you put in yours?

I know my mum will be laughing up her sleeve when she reads I am cooking potato and broccoli casserole every week now. And then she’ll laugh some more at the expression laughing up one’s sleeve. She’s like that.

While we cook, we listen. Kaya has discovered the CD rack. The one with music CDs. “Mama, there are CDs with singing on, not just stories!” He tried some jazz and classic, but REM is the current flavour of the month. Which is perfectly fine by me.

Linking up with Dawn.

This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Making & Listening

  1. maria says:

    I do have a similar lentil dish that is our go to when we need a bit of comfort food πŸ™‚ m.

  2. lvaletutto says:

    Looks delicious! I’m definitely going to try it out this week, thanks for the recipe!

  3. Renee says:

    That looks absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  4. Dawn Suzette says:

    I had to laugh because I have burned my family out on a few dishes that have now been banned from the house πŸ™‚
    That casserole looks so yummy!
    It has been a long time since I listened to REM. I do think the kids would Iike them.
    Thanks for joining in this week!

Leave a Reply

