Making & Listening

IMG_4714 IMG_4719 IMG_4885 IMG_4824 IMG_4827 IMG_4928 IMG_4943

* Making: there has been a lot of cutting and sewing in the few spare moments of my days.
Sewing on a machine requires quite a different sort of concentration than knitting, or hand sewing. The little people around me cope a lot better with me busying myself with a  needle (or two) in my hand, when I can look up, stop, help and play much more readily than when I’m sitting in front of the machine. Even if it is just for a few minutes at a time.
So the whole hat making process is taking a little longer than expected, but I am hoping to have a few new sun hats ready in the shop by this weekend.

* Listening: I had the rare pleasure of a solo car ride one evening this week, and got to turn my music up.
When my sister gave us her old car two years ago, it came with a bunch of her CDs in it. I don’t ever really get past the first few songs on the first CD, but those favourite hits of two summers ago remind me of a wonderful few weeks. They take me right back, like a proper mix tape. Ha, remember those? I don’t think I’ve had such an emotional mix tape session for at least ten years..

Playing along with Dawn

This entry was posted in Sewing, Shop Talk. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Making & Listening

  1. Renee says:

    Lovely hats, Svenna 🙂 I really should get my sewing machine out again…these nagging whispers keep at me in my head…but am a bit scared…am such a novice seamstress!

    Enjoy the mix 🙂

  2. Adeola says:

    Loving the hats! who is the little red riding hood fabric by? it might be just what i need to get my sewing kickstarted for the summer x

  3. Dawn Suzette says:

    Oh. My. Goodness. That Little Red Riding Hood hat is adorable!
    I totally understand the machine vs. hand work thing. Much different kind of accessibility to & for the little people. But it is amazing what can be done stealing away little moments.
    Mixed tapes! Flashback. It as been some time since one of those was made around here!
    Thanks so much for joining in this week!

  4. karen says:

    love the little red riding hood fabric! Great hats and I do love how music can transport us to another time.

Leave a Reply

