Random thoughts on a Tuesday in July

IMG_0263

The heat (yes, heat! Although I am aware that English heat is quite different to other places’ summer heats) slows everything down. The days pass in a blur of sun cream, parks and picnics, not much accomplished other than waiting for the air to cool down enough to blow a little breeze through the window.
Handling yarn and fabric seems a little counterintuitive these days, but things want to get done. Slowly. It’s July. But I did get some funny looks when I took out my knitting at the playground the other day!
Our bedrooms under the roof have become so hot that we camped out in the living room the other night. Kaya is asking when we can do it again. I prefer my actual bed to this kind of adventure to be honest.
In other news, I bought a pair of trousers. Normally I am quite conservative in my choice of trousers. But I have to tell you, get a pair of red trousers with white dots and you will feel good. I call them my happy trousers. Not that I am wearing anything that’s not lightweight and flowing at the moment. But just looking at them cheers me up – something to look forward to when the cooler days return.
Until then, I am enjoying the slow days of July.
I hope you are, too. 

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Random thoughts on a Tuesday in July

  1. Roberta says:

    I like your new trousers..

  2. Renee says:

    i love your happy trousers! sorry have been awol…a bit snowed under in work. eep! catch up very soon and enjoy the sunshine – it seems summer finally found us! xx

  3. salpal1 says:

    camping in the living room and new trousers – a good summer. Go ahead and knit in the park, they won’t be looking at you strangely when you sport the new knitted garments in the fall. 🙂

  4. Rachel says:

    Love those polka dots! I got brave with a pair of orange jeans I found on clearance – turns out I love them!

  5. Heather says:

    Love the new pants. I bought red shoes for the same reason. You can’t help but feel happy. Hope you get a bit of respite from teh heat.

  6. Dawn Suzette says:

    Those make me smile just looking at them too! So cute!

Leave a Reply

