Yarn Along

IMG_0062We got back home yesterday.
We had a great time with our family, and even got to see a dozen firemen deal with a tree that fell down on my mum’s street during a thunderstorm. A lucky day for the boys.
Now it’s the slow business of arriving.
You know, washing three loads of laundry before realising there is no way to dry them, because arriving back to England from Germany is like coming back from a Caribbean holiday in winter. Emptying the fridge of old, old, old food and restocking with fresh. Menu planning. Mourning the silk and wool baby vest that the husband has shrunk in the wash. Catching up. Stuff like that.
Of course, I didn’t leave for home without a bit of yarn shopping. And without having done much knitting (never mind finishing that cardi like I’d thought I would), I am planning the next one. In sock yarn. That’s me becoming a bit over-ambitious. I’ll definitely need a lot of little quick projects in between to keep my sanity. Let’s say, this one will be for autumn 2014..
There hasn’t been much reading either – the last book I read before our trip had to be returned to the library with 100 pages still to go. In Germany, I started another book (this one), but it was a birthday present for my sister, so I couldn’t really take it home. From the first third that I read, it’s very promising.  I ordered it from the library – apparently I’m 32nd on the waiting list. I’ll probably have gone back to Germany again before I get my hands on it. Either way, I’m sure it’s a good brain exercise to remember what it’s all about.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Donna says:

    Very pretty yarn you bought! Coming home after vacation can be a bummer.

  2. Liz says:

    Love the color scheme of yarn you purchased!

  3. karen says:

    nice pile of yarn you adopted! I remember once we had a cement truck in the neighborhood and my son was 4 at the time-quite the day!!! Glad you are home and had fun.

Leave a Reply

