August Break – Breakfast

IMG_0031

When I think of breakfast, I conjure up images of a hot cup of coffee, complete with artistically swirled foam, serenely sipped by the open window, early in the morning when the air is still cool and the house still quiet. Then there might be eggs frying, and maybe pancakes, fresh bread toasting, and definitely something containing blueberries to go with the pancakes.
But somehow not all days (if any) start like that, usually.

Today I was woken up by a certain little someone frantically ringing a bell next to my ear, saying breakfast was ready. (After waking me up several times in the preceding early hours of the morning, requesting I get up to tie his shoe laces. Which I refused.)
I was quite chuffed to have breakfast prepared by the men, even though I found it didn’t contain coffee (yet). Or cups. Or cutlery.
Of course, the usual breakfast is more about avoiding casually flicked spoonfuls of porridge, and negotiating the removal of toy racing cars from the dining table, and only very rarely about pancakes and blueberries.

But at least today, there was nowhere we had to be, and there was time to start the day slowly, and with coffee (minus artistic foam), easing our way into the day, into August, and into the returning summer weather.

 

* This year, I am joining Susannah again for the August break.
A photo a day, a few words, or maybe none.


Happy August!

The August Break 2013

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to August Break – Breakfast

  1. the habit of being says:

    when mr. attempts to cook, i get called to the table and there is never a beverage, napkin, or cutlery. i will still dream about those swirly cappucinos and flaky croissants…one day.

  2. lucindalines says:

    Oh enjoy those days when you are called to anything at all on the table. I wake now to an empty house, and though my husband is only gone at work, I am reminded that everyone is heading to school without me this fall, and I will really be alone. I need to find a life, I guess. Anyway ENJOY!!!

  3. Renee says:

    I am joining Susannah too 🙂 Happy August, lovely Svenna!
    (I do so apologize in a big way for the tardiness of my letter! I have your letter in my knitting bag/basket to remind me that I still need to write you! Soon!)
    xx

  4. karen says:

    I have yet to receive a cooked breakfast by my husband….I am the early morning gal and he is the late night owl….You are lucky!

    • Seeing he is the early morning guy, I think he should be the breakfast man 😉
      But sometimes I do set up the coffee machine in the evening so he just has to push the button in the morning!

Leave a Reply

