Weekending

IMG_0441I’d lost my cooking mojo a couple of weeks ago.
Maybe it’s having a week free of meal duties, being catered for by my mum and sister, maybe it’s the odd welcome rain shower that cools the air a little, but something pulled me back into the kitchen this weekend.
Summery, light and fresh, and some new recipes to try for next week’s menu – but I’ve also craved cake. Saturday’s simple sponge was gone within hours, with a little help. Today’s foray into vegan baking, a chocolate courgette experiment, resulted in something rather more questionable.
I’ll make sure that next week’s efforts will contain a comfortable amount of eggs and butter, just to be sure.
(Years ago, I ate a fabulous courgette cake, but I can’t remember who made it. If anyone has a favourite recipe, please do share!)

Apart from cooking, there’s also been a bit of painting. I just listed three new tote bags in the shop (here), including an adorable little bear one (if I may say so myself. It’ll be hard to let him go).

Weekending with Amanda.
How has yours been?

 

This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking, Shop Talk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekending

  1. the habit of being says:

    i find it so very difficult to muster any cooking mojo in the summer. so hot, i certainly don’t want to cook but my kids aren’t terribly enthusiastic about salads šŸ˜¦

  2. the habit of being says:

    btw, we have matching kitchen timers!

  3. Erin says:

    I love the kitchen shot! I’ve been craving banana cake… good thing I’ve got bananas to use up and cream cheese for some frosting!

  4. karen says:

    I try to eat vegan two out of three meals and so far breakfast and lunch are the winners. I want to spend the least amount of time in the kitchen as possible-leaves more time to knit!

  5. Sounds like you’ve been busy. Don’t think I’ve ever had a cooking mojo!

  6. heathermama says:

    getting the cooking mojo back… nice. and cake, now i want cake.

  7. Pingback: Making & Listening | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

