Snail Mail

IMG_0396I have a few friends in the world that I have the habit of keeping in touch with by traditional post. And how wonderful to find something other than bills in your letter box!

The past weeks (months?) have been so busy, and writing letters always seems to fall by the wayside in times like these.

The other day, Kaya was complaining about the recent lack of post for him. So what do you need to do to receive a letter? Send a letter.
Usually his boy likes to draw pictures and have me write down the story to go with it – but recently it seems more fun to him to draw directly onto the envelope. Not sure what to put inside now.. Balloons are one thing he likes to send to any unsuspecting recipient!

In any case, this was the reminder I needed to sit down and put together some happy little greetings too. Almost more fun than receiving post yourself!

Do you still manage to make time for pen & paper letter writing?
Or do you prefer email?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Snail Mail

  1. lucindalines says:

    I used to love writing letters to family, especially when I was in college. I have come across a few of those when cleaning out at my mom’s place, what a wonderful find that she kept some of that. It was also a bit embarrassing to see my spelling and grammar. I hope I have improved some since then. HA!

  2. Jolana says:

    πŸ™‚ Currently the e-mail is the way how to quick write/inform… about something. But the hand writing has its own charm πŸ™‚ I love to send the postcards from everywhere to my family and to my friends. And I have two friends (yes, only 2) with love to hand-writing letters, so I have an opportunity to take a free time, to sit… and to write long letter πŸ™‚
    Jolana

  3. Sofia's Ideas says:

    I used to every week. I would sit down every Wednesday and write out birthday/thank you/get well cards, and pick one person to write a letter or put a care package together for. But it has been about 5 years since I let that habit die. And it’s funny because I was JUST thinking I need to start that up again and then I read this post. Guess it is a sign! xo

  4. leovlad says:

    I send postcards or handmade cards on a weekly basis to friends and family. Everyone just goes nuts over it – I don’t get a lot back in return, but I do it because it makes me so happy when they flip out when they get it!

  5. lvaletutto says:

    Living in Germany for the past 3 years I have always written home to family and friends in the US. I have always loved writing (and receiving) letters, packages, etc. Too often though people don’t write back or prefer to send an email or use facebook in response. It’s sad how nobody writes letters anymore 😦 I love your flower stationary! Where did you get it?

    • Thank you! The stationery is a Cath Kidston set. The paper is plain on the other side – easier to write and read! πŸ˜‰

      • lvaletutto says:

        It’s getting harder and harder to find good stationary at the stores nowadays. Also the pen in the pic used to be one of my favorites, I bought a couple of them a long time ago in the states but forgot all about them until I saw the one in your pic. Is it a Bic? Sorry for all the inquiries. πŸ™‚

      • No worries, I love talking about stationery!! πŸ™‚
        This pen is a uniball eye fine – my favourite. Unfortunately I’m very bad at keeping my pens together; I keep putting them in pockets and bags and then I can never find one when I need it!

      • lvaletutto says:

        Thanks! I have fond memories of this pen from my college days. I’m going to have to get myself one now!

  6. Renee says:

    oh svenna! your letter is right here on my desk – with my pile of pretty stationery and favourite pens. soon i will carve out the time to write – at the moment i feel like i am barely keeping my head above water with work. eeek! MUST get my priorities straightened out, eh? or at least strike a balance! i will write soon – promise! i just want to make sure i write a leisurely and proper letter πŸ™‚ xo

Leave a Reply

