His sweater

IMG_0384IMG_0360

The saga has finally come to an end.

I cast on for this jumper a mere 17 months ago, when it looked like we might move into a tiny ancient cottage and worried about freezing winters. In the end we didn’t move there, but now we live in an old building where the winters will probably be equally cold, so my timing isn’t all that off.

We went through a lot of procrastination, this jumper and I. Two summer breaks, several cuff scenarios, two collar versions, three re-knittings of the bottom rib. There was even nail-biting surgery involved (if you’ve ever tried to unravel the bottom of something that was knit bottom-up, you know why I eventually reached for the scissors).

I’m not sure if that dear husband of mine is truly happy with this jumper now; maybe, after so many “Couldn’t you just….?”, he saw the desperate plea in my eyes and let me bury the ends. Finally.
He is very fashion conscious and most likely won’t be seen in public in a sweater that his wife knit. Huh. But so far he’s worn it every evening after work and is all set for the cold weather when it does arrive. In any case, as you can see from the pictures, it fits me too so there’s always an alternative wearer.
Also, he is going to have to find something else to tease me about, because it can’t be about never-finishing-his-jumper anymore!

Ravelry notes (rather rambling): here.

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to His sweater

  1. Erin says:

    I love it Svenna. It looks so soft and cozy! Beautiful work.

  2. Congrats on finishing it! It looks warm and cozy.

  3. Lucky man. Very nice jumper and a great post 🙂

  4. lvaletutto says:

    Wow, I read your notes on ravelry. Now that’s dedication to a sweater (or a husband). I know how horrible that feels to rip out work from the starting point. It looks fabulous, though. I think you did a great job!

  5. lucindalines says:

    Beautiful!! And what they all said.

  6. karen says:

    I love it!! It looks cozy and very fashion forward for your husband 🙂

  7. Renee says:

    So beautiful, Svenna! Well done 🙂

    Sewing…the…kaftan…for…Bea…together…gah! Watch this space!

  8. Pingback: Yarn Along | Stitch and Purl

Leave a Reply

