A last Monday in October

IMG_0195I hope all of you in the path of the storm got through it safe and well.
We wouldn’t really have noticed much here, if it wasn’t for the huge puddles outside today (great for jumping in!).

The light was different today, in between the dark grey clouds looming above and the brief bursts of sunlight from surprisingly blue bits of sky.
The wind was a little fiercer and the air a little colder.
I do love the days of summer, and autumn, but always towards the end of a season I am looking forward to the next one.
Today felt like the first taste of winter. A dark afternoon and hot cocoa, woolly socks and wishing to stay under the warm duvet a little longer. (Ok, the last one, that’s all year round for me.)

I hope we are still going to get some more autumn days, with pumpkins and apples and colourful leaves crumpling on the window sill after long walks. It is still only October, albeit just a few more days. I might still need a little more time to ease myself into a new season.

 

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A last Monday in October

  1. Erin says:

    I know how you feel. It really is a push and pull right now isn’t it? Loving fall, yet ready for the insular quiet of winter…

  2. karen says:

    I love fall but this week I’ve been a little sad knowing that my after dinner walks will end. Great photo.

Leave a Reply

